Cork v Joe Canning

Well done Cork. Hope ye's do yurselves justice rest of the year. Hard luck Joe, Not easy carrying 14 others. Your day will come

mossbags (Galway) - Posts: 1089 - 19/07/2008 20:47:10    51716

Joe's day will come and that is a certainty. Canning was unreal, a true hurling great and he only 19 which is frightening. Galway will be down after this, but ye must remember that the talent is there and if ye go into leinster ye will have more competitive games which can make a massive difference. ger loughnane can have them beating lumps off each other in training but nothing compare to a full on championship match. galy will be back, as for Cork, there is life in a few of those old dogs yet. I am a very prowd corkman tonight.
hard luck Galway but up the rebels.

happytobehere (Cork) - Posts: 360 - 19/07/2008 22:53:47    51764

Is Loughnane going then?

Mayo89 (None) - Posts: 159 - 19/07/2008 23:03:21    51767

Wow. Great game from Cork. Well done and best of luck with the rest of the summer.

Devastated by another early finish for Galway. You'd think it would get easier with all the practise we've had!

Hard to see Loughnane staying on. He's had his two years with little sign of progress. But then, if he can't do it with this bunch of misfiring hurlers; who can?

festinog (Galway) - Posts: 3152 - 19/07/2008 23:40:04    51778

The hurlers looked unfit and uninterested, apart from the two Cannings. One or two of the forwards looked quite overweight. They weren't able to keep their heads, and for this, I think, the manager has to take some of the responsibility. Another bad year. I don't think Galway have progressed at all under Loughnane. Bring in a Galwegian. Joe Cooney and Seán Silke?

Oggy (Galway) - Posts: 245 - 20/07/2008 00:12:33    51793

What a match!!!!. Well done lads so proud of them ,they really played out of there skins. Ben ,Joe cathal amazing . if Cork do no more this year , i think we can be very proud of both hurlers and footballers, they restored pride back into the jersery.
I feel so sorry for Joe Canning. The guy is amazing, but he needs 14 men behind him , Ger cant expect a team to win an all ireland and have a 1 man team.

ver (None) - Posts: 228 - 20/07/2008 09:16:46    51839

absolutly great game, couldnt take my eyes of it, ended up being a half hour late to my mayes do cause of it

lino_de_legend (Dublin) - Posts: 816 - 20/07/2008 11:09:15    51856

Thats a lesson for everyone, don't ever write that Cork team off, too much class in it even if a little old! Joe Deane, in his 12th Championship year was outstanding!

Joe Canning - wow, think we are watching a hurling all time great in the making! Felt sorry for him at the end, but he was still nice enough to sign a few autographs, I would have told them kids were to go if I scored 2-12 and lost a game like that!!!!

macattack (UK) - Posts: 584 - 20/07/2008 11:56:12    51878

Well done Cork. It was a performance full of determination & guts & no little class.

But let's be honest here

The likes of Joe Deane & Cathal Naughton got SO much space in attack, it was unreal. There's no way defenders with the class of Gerry O'Grady & Pat Donnellan would give them that room the next day.

What happened to the much vaunted galway forward line?? (aside from the Joe Show). So many players to pick from they tell me but none of them got on top of their man. Ger Farragher looked like he was going to make a difference but only got 10 mins!

And finally, it would be a travesty of joe canning didn't get an all-star. I kknow he's only played 1 serious match, but still...give it to him...

banner_boy (Clare) - Posts: 1285 - 20/07/2008 12:17:09    51892

If there was ever a reason for Galway to enter Leinster this is it. They got two terrible games aginst Laois and Antrim. They lost this game because they failed to play at championship pace. .... I dont agree with bringing other teams into Leinster because you only get out of something, what you put into it. Its a short term solution for the championship but its obvious that Galway need it as bad as Leinster need it...

Ballyruined (Laois) - Posts: 81 - 20/07/2008 13:15:03    51935

Felt very sorry for Super Joe.What a genius of a player...it must be embarrassing for some of the other Galway players to look at him today because,lets be honest, when things got hot, when Cork put it up them, they left it to a 19 year old playing in his first match to carry them. He did a great job of course but could not do everything on his own. Galway still have the talent to win an All-Ireland. That does not change after this result.

I am not sure about bringing them into Leinster. Galway must make their own bed, you have the talent to win All-Irelands and lack of competitive games is not hindering you at minor and under 21 level. Bringing you in the Leinster so you can a game that you can lose and then recover from is not necesarily the answer. Galway must win themselves and not rely on the GAA to make the changes for you. You have the talent so just do it and no excuses when you do not. Sorry for being brutal.

A word for the winners. Absolutely superb. We won because we were better on the night. It was deserved. Proud to be from Cork after watching that. One of the greater performances by that team.

bennybunny (Cork) - Posts: 3917 - 20/07/2008 19:46:15    52084

Agreed benny. A certain amount can be attributed to a serious lack of competitive games, but the truth is, had even one more of the Galway forwards played to their potential they would have won. The answer lies not in Leinster, but in a county senior hurling panel that seem incapable of playing together as a cohesive unit. And until Galway GAA address that nothing in the world will improve their chances.

The problem? Club allegiance over county. Simple as that.

festinog (Galway) - Posts: 3152 - 21/07/2008 05:23:19    52264

Take a team that keeps Kilkenny busy for 60 minutes, add Joe and Olly and then we should be flying. I cannot believe the no show of the 13 other hurlers.Could nothing be done to stop Cork running riot on the left. Where was the bench? What game were they watching?I think we should join Munster and get at least 2 decent matches. What purpose did the matches against Antrim and Laois serve? I dont know the answers but waiting 12 months for one Championship game is an absolute joke.Fair play to Cork though.

CocknyTribesman (UK) - Posts: 194 - 21/07/2008 09:12:02    52303

The rest of the Galway fowards were awful. If only one other forward played sort of well we would have won it. Ollie Canning,David Forde, Shane Kavanagh, Adrian Cullinane were the only other players who played well. John Lee should not have been playing seeing as he was sick all week. Also Damien Hayes seems disinterested as he is unhappy he didn't get the captajncy ahead of Ollie Canning.

Looks like Loughnane will go and Vincient Mullins will get the job.

Clash-of-da-ash (Galway) - Posts: 927 - 21/07/2008 09:46:36    52343

as any player will tell you...you can train all year and lift weights all you want but nothing subsitutes playing a championship game. galway have the talent alright but playing meaningless challenges and games against laois and Antrim will not prepare you for a team like Cork who may be getting on a bit but have class in abundance and experience to match.

howshecuttin (Longford) - Posts: 376 - 21/07/2008 09:56:52    52355

what a legen canning he absolutely roasted the rock, all star and yound player of the years guarnteed

ball-boy (Mayo) - Posts: 4211 - 21/07/2008 10:17:28    52386

Your under 21 team had to wait 12 months for a match against Cork last year and you won a classic after extra time. If you talk about your seniors last year, you had a competitive game against Clare which you lost before bowing out to Kilkenny. So last year so you had a serious match against a quality team (al be it a Clare one that was in disarray), this year you did not but the end result is the same. Again, as I have said and without sounding harsch, the Galway players need to stand up themselves and win it. As someone said recently nobody 'deserves' anything, you must go and do it yourself.

I would keep Loughnane as manager of the Galway team and I would keep the very same panel for next year. I wonder what use there would be in changing things around completely by bringing in a new manager. That would mean rebuilding the whole thing and starting from scratch all over again. There is no need to do that.

bennybunny (Cork) - Posts: 3917 - 21/07/2008 10:20:55    52392

Dublin would have beaten Galway!

Snufalufagus.....Laochra Gael

Snufalufagus (Dublin) - Posts: 8100 - 21/07/2008 12:43:21    52706

Dublin could well have beaten galway minus Joe canning.

He's the makings of being the best of all time the maturity and skill he has at 19-20 is scary. He just needs a team to play with him now. Eoin Kelly was in the same boat a few years ago.

Hag_and_Cheese (Tipperary) - Posts: 6103 - 21/07/2008 16:57:14    53134

Benny- once more I agree. Foolish to blame Loughnane or a lack of competitive games for that non-performance last saturday. Time for the players to get over whatever it is that prevents them from playing to even an inch of their ability (not to mention potential) when it counts.

This is a problem with the mentality of Galways seniors.

festinog (Galway) - Posts: 3152 - 21/07/2008 23:28:34    53418