Meath football team announcements

19 March 2010

The announcement of recent Meath football teams or rather lack of same is turning into a huge joke.

Travelled like a couple of hundred others to Thurles last Sunday. Debate on the way down concerned team selection. Only found out actual lineout when teams emerged on the pitch and even then numbers on backs did not match actual positions. Nearly as big an embarrassment as the display to come.

Go on to the terrace at Pairc Tailteann and you will pay Eu15 - yes Eu15 - on a Saturday night under all kinds of weather for the privilege. Meath County Board and their Croke Park bosses expect us, the supporters, to pay professional fees for their services but act like pure silly amateurs in return.

We took 20 phone calls in our offices this morning asking for the team. Rang Pairc Tailteann and were told management did not want to release team. Ironically, one of the players gave his version of the line out. Yet this is still hearsay. We like to have matters correct.

Cop on Meath team management. Mistakes on the pitch are one thing but get the little items right. You have a duty to your supporters. What, you think Laois are going to dissect an announced team position by position.

None of this rubbish from other leading counties. Time Croke Park started slapping bans on counties when NFL, NHL and championship teams are not announced within a reasonable time of throw in.

Editor

Took this from the main page and it is 100% correct.

trap (Meath) - Posts: 175 - 19/03/2010 14:24:20    592519

This is posted here to keep everything under the one topic.

Sportfan

The Editor Meath Team

I have to agree totally with the editor. If you were a local GAA club your Co. Board would want the team in with them at least 3 days before to have on a programme for finals or even ¼ or semi-finals. Rules for one and rules for others. Your right about the carry on of our management it is all a disgrace and it will shortly start to affect the attendance at matches. €15 is a disgrace also. We go to Navan and then the next day to our clubs for league medals. Get your act together Eamon & Management and also to the players - Respect your County Jersey and your clubs that have got you there.

Administrator (None) - Posts: 535 - 19/03/2010 14:27:12    592526

sure even if they posted a team, it prob change come kick off.

I dont see what the big deal is? you support the team whoever is playing and the management. It is ok to ask questions on the teams performance after a game but no need to do it before an game and alienate them further.
im sure other counties are the same.

mickey fluther (Meath) - Posts: 94 - 19/03/2010 15:17:39    592596

Totally agree with the Editor and Administrator. The apparent level of disorganisation is staggering. It is normal, especially at this time of year to know your team well in advance of a game and to give the media and supporters some time to digest the selection. Indeed if the team was as settled as it ought to be nearing the end of the National League then the media and supporters should be nearly able to pick it.

Royal Flush (None) - Posts: 6 - 19/03/2010 15:55:38    592652

Unfortunately this is not something new in Meath football, our county team has never been noted for being announced early.
What does our management think it is achieving by not announcing the team publicly a day or two before the match?

jackhackett (Meath) - Posts: 773 - 19/03/2010 16:05:26    592667

it was 15 euro into croke park on wednesday for two finals now the meath county board need to look at this when they tink about the price that they charge into their games!! was at a championship match last yr nd was a €10 for one game ders no value in dat

juicy (Meath) - Posts: 403 - 19/03/2010 16:12:23    592683

Paddy O'Rourke
Eoghan Harrington
Niall McKiege
Chris O'Connor
Mickey Burke
Anthony Moyles
Nigel Crawford
Mark Ward
Seamus Kenny
Joe Sheridan
Ollie Lewis
Cian Ward
Jamie Queeny
Steven Bray

Right i will start off with the positeves,Cormac McGuiness is back and he has the Full-Forward line that everyone including myself want.Why does he continue to play Moyles?He does not have the legs anymore he was showed up last week.Instead of playing Kenny in the half forward line he should have put Kenny in the half back line and start Shane O'Rourke as he showed up well last week.I am a bit surpised Lewis is playing but he is a good player.McKiege is bad enough at corner back,but at full back he is to small and is not tight enough.If Donnie Kingston starts at full forward we could be in trouble.McKiege is only at full-back because of Sean Kelly on the management team.If they were going to play Moyles tomorrow night why didn't they put him at full back.He might have improved since last year at his full-back play.I would have kept Macken in the team because he will have to get games here because he may end up at full-back for the championship.I would have started Brian Meade as he needs games and Mark Ward was poor last week.

12Royal (Meath) - Posts: 987 - 19/03/2010 16:30:37    592707

Lads, I agree fully regarding the lack of a line up b4 games. But,
the admission charges aren't set by the co board. €15 into all div 1 & 2 games, so we can't have a pop at them 4 that!

Jinxie (Meath) - Posts: 6348 - 19/03/2010 16:41:26    592718

Sorry there lads i left out McGuiness at 6.Sorry

12Royal (Meath) - Posts: 987 - 19/03/2010 16:44:45    592725

My worry is that the team does not have a settled look about it and there is too much choping and changing, we need to get the spine of our team right or we are at nothing, why are they playing Mc Keigue at full-back there is absolutely ZERO chance of him being a successful championship full-back so why not put someone in there who is a realistic option; even if it was Moyles at least we would know that he might not be a brilliant full-back but he has been solid at times but playing Mc Keigues at full-back is just ridiculous in my opinion.

Thunderstruck (Meath) - Posts: 483 - 19/03/2010 17:34:27    592832

12royal you have to have david bray on the starting 15

SeanR0716 (Meath) - Posts: 65 - 19/03/2010 18:49:11    592927

Thunderstruck I'm not sure whether you've played football or at what level, however to suggest that Moyles is a better defender that McKeigue is simply incorrect. It amazes me the amount of people posting to the board with clueless comments. I may not agree with Northmeathman lots of the time but it is obvious that he has knowledge of the game and is not looking through rose tinted glass.

browncows (Meath) - Posts: 2342 - 19/03/2010 20:07:07    593015

Thunderstuck -My point was a general one and not specifically to you and it went out without my editing. I forgot to add that I do agree with lots of your comments and especially the ones about changing the team around on every occassion- It is near championship time and the team should have a settled look. McKeigue may not be full back, however even when he plays well (like against Tipp for instance) he still get critized by morons

browncows (Meath) - Posts: 2342 - 19/03/2010 20:13:49    593025

browncows believe me I have played plenty of senior club football in a couple of different counties...where in my e-mail did I say that Moyles was a better defender than Mc Keigue? What I said was that Moyles is a better option at full-back than Mc Keigue and I stand by that statement regardless of how either players perform against Laois, for example if I said Tommy Griffin was a better defender than Thomas O' Se that wouldnt be correct; but who would I prefer at full-back? Tommy Griffin just because he is more suited to playing in that position...so read the e-mail properly before you go harping-on about a differnet topic altogether.

Thunderstruck (Meath) - Posts: 483 - 19/03/2010 21:11:21    593099

Have to agree with the editors point here. Whateverabout the price of entry, the fact that we the paying public are been treated so shabbily is not on. Dare I say the reason is that Eamon does not know what team he is playing until he is in the dressing room before the match. The nonsense of not picking your team until the eleventh hour is adding to the uncertainty about the team and is feeding into the bad results. We need a more professional approach.

Browncows you are beginning to get embarrassing even for a Navan man. I may not favour Moyles for full back but I would have him in any position from 1 to 15 before I would have McKeigue. He is unquestionably a much better footballer and considerably more reliable. Just in case you now accuse me of an anti NOM bias let get my retaliation in first and say that I believe McGuinness should be CHB, Mark Ward has been the best mid-fielder on show since the mark was introduced an the two Brays should also be on the first 15. I agree that Northmeathman has in the past strangely supported McKeigue when I said that he was no longer up to par but does he still support him. If McKeigue is lost in the corner how on earth do you expect him to cope at full back. You wouldn't be the bold Niall himself would you. If you are this is not personal. Its just football.

The real Árd Rí (Meath) - Posts: 990 - 20/03/2010 08:35:35    593171

Thunderstruck-may have played in different counties but that in itself does not say too much. You point that Moyles is a better option at fullback says something about your reading of the game! what were you watching last year . The Real Ard Ri I think you have been watching the game too long now as you appear to get confused about certain players!. And I though McKeague had a good game tonight just as he had last week

browncows (Meath) - Posts: 2342 - 20/03/2010 21:48:52    593698

browncows if you think that Niall Mc Keigue would be a better option at full-back than Moyles; and that he would have done a better job on Tommy Walsh if he was playing at full-back last year, then we'l agree to disagree because this debate is going nowhere!!

Thunderstruck (Meath) - Posts: 483 - 21/03/2010 21:36:50    594445

I dont think Browncows is Niall McKiege because if he was he would be able to spell his name correctly.

12Royal (Meath) - Posts: 987 - 21/03/2010 21:59:44    594524

Browncows Just to let you know, ah what the hell I won't bother as you would hardly understand anyway. Maybe in a few years when you mature. In the meantime I'll just debate with those who know something about the game.

The real Árd Rí (Meath) - Posts: 990 - 22/03/2010 11:11:44    594684

how has a thread about meath management and lack of info on starting turn into a slagging match about who played football where, when and how much and how to spell the name mckeigue, this meath forum board is getting more ridiculous every day

The.Rock (Meath) - Posts: 582 - 22/03/2010 11:42:15    594736