Have you ever marked a county player?

I once held John maughan scoreless,

firbolg (Mayo) - Posts: 46 - 23/07/2009 14:28:30    358520

declan osullivan couple years back, he scored 5 from play. i managed 3 from play with a goal with last kick of the game so i won 1.3-5.
take a bow son! classy operator he is though.

mrman (Meath) - Posts: 39 - 23/07/2009 14:36:57    358531

fortyfive

358463 Marked Owen Mulligan and a few Derry men in a Soccer.

Friend of mine was a great underage footballer and played county under-16. He marked Owen Mulligan in county vocational schools match and Mulligan left him in bits. My mate decided "whats the point in this?" and hasn't kicked a ball in anger since!

Breffni40 (Cavan) - Posts: 12370 - 23/07/2009 15:02:09    358586

Kleenex is Liam Dunne hahaha

Duffy89 (Wexford) - Posts: 3320 - 23/07/2009 15:06:35    358597

a underage county hurler came runnin strait through at me last year,i hit him with a shoulder and won the ball

lowerormond (Tipperary) - Posts: 1267 - 23/07/2009 15:10:49    358607

was sent out to "do a job" on a county man once but he didnt bother come near me,instead he went to our danger man and destroyed him and us

rexbanner10 (Cavan) - Posts: 396 - 23/07/2009 15:31:25    358652

duffy89 was thinking the very same!

lostcat (Dublin) - Posts: 49 - 23/07/2009 15:44:26    358693

I kept James Reilly scoreless.

Breffni40 (Cavan) - Posts: 12370 - 23/07/2009 15:50:52    358707

paudi

358503 big lads Gallagher must a been one a them i think he was close to 7 ft dnt no other boy. Could it be Cillian Sheridan. I was a big lad but only played a fw games. was on bench against cootehill once. think we always beat ye.

Gallagher was one alright 6 8" 17 stone a monster! i'd say the other was big 'o' kelleher, Cillian sheridan would of been two young for that age group

thumper (None) - Posts: 95 - 23/07/2009 16:10:34    358752

The bailieboro lad was about 6ft 8 alright and yeah sheridan was the other-he was lethal.

beer baron (Cavan) - Posts: 3916 - 23/07/2009 16:11:08    358754

breffni39 you werent marking him..
so far iv marked martin rielly and john mccutchion

bountyhunter (Cavan) - Posts: 302 - 23/07/2009 16:12:57    358761

good man breffni39, james scored 4 goals for us one day

rexbanner10 (Cavan) - Posts: 396 - 23/07/2009 16:18:40    358773

marked gerald cavlan and brian mcguckin in youth football a long time ago.

orange and blue (Tyrone) - Posts: 1080 - 23/07/2009 16:32:49    358804

thumper pretty sure kelliher nor Gallagher would a played full forward. sheridan n kelleher was most likely the two player. I know sheridan played on seniors when kelleher was still there. so probs be them too. u from boro thumper

paudi (Meath) - Posts: 681 - 23/07/2009 16:42:54    358822

thumper

358752 paudi

358503 big lads Gallagher must a been one a them i think he was close to 7 ft dnt no other boy. Could it be Cillian Sheridan. I was a big lad but only played a fw games. was on bench against cootehill once. think we always beat ye.

Gallagher was one alright 6 8" 17 stone a monster! i'd say the other was big 'o' kelleher, Cillian sheridan would of been two young for that age group

Sheridan was there think he was only about 16 and i was 18 or close to it,we had Barry watters as our young prodigy but sheridan totally out shone him.had soccer trials with him the same year.Never thought he'd make it as far as he has.

beer baron (Cavan) - Posts: 3916 - 23/07/2009 16:48:01    358831

bountyhunter

358761 breffni39 you werent marking him..
23/07/2009 16:18:40
rexbanner10

358773 good man breffni39, james scored 4 goals for us one day

I was indeed, I was a bit of a goal-hanging corner-forward in my day, so technically I was marking James Reilly and he barely touched the ball. :)

Breffni40 (Cavan) - Posts: 12370 - 23/07/2009 16:54:08    358846

I've marked Cormac Bane, Kevin Brady, Tommy Walsh, Seanie Johnson, Conor Mortimer, Mattew Clancy. I've marked county players at club training aswell but does that count? Generally cleaned by all county players in my time.

Bigboy (Galway) - Posts: 133 - 23/07/2009 16:54:23    358850

I marked Shane Long in an u12 match, he couldn't handle me and was moved off me after i scored a few goals and points.
Our careers have gone in slightly different directions however.

Sisco87 (Tipperary) - Posts: 759 - 23/07/2009 16:54:34    358851

same here didn think hed get that far. played soccer with him a fair bit n he never really shone.

paudi (Meath) - Posts: 681 - 23/07/2009 17:05:14    358880

bountyhunter

358761 breffni39 you werent marking him..

I'd say ya had good craic running after john

beer baron (Cavan) - Posts: 3916 - 23/07/2009 17:05:50    358884