Westmeath Sunday

Ok lads, I know it's only the O'Byrne cup, in January, with no proper training or stuff done, butthis is Eamonn O'Brien's first game in charge, is there many heading to the game? I plan to be there anyway, support the new manager and the lads who do their best for the green and gold.
What I would like to see on Sunday is a willingness to play for the jersey, to fight and die for the cause and a return to the never-say-die Meath attitude, a new manager often brings aboout success, look at Coyle's first year, and hopefully a willingness on the manager's behalf to try out new players, the likes of Jamie Queeney, Eoin Reilly, young lads who have been on the panel or there abouts in recent years, give them a chance and lets see what they're made of.

Anyway, best of luck to Eamonn and all the Meath lads for 2009 and beyond and hopefully we will see some silverware back in the coffers by the end of the year!

updaroyal (Meath) - Posts: 1132 - 02/01/2009 14:00:11    172060

I plan to be there with the rest of the clann. I'd like to see the same but unless O'Brien has installed a "your fighting for your jersey" attitude I doubt we will see it.

I think there is great potential for Meath to repeat 2007 but lads like Queeny and Reilly are risking becoming deadwood unless they break through this year. 2 quality players but they need some real first team football not just the O'Byrne cup.

Big Dave (Meath) - Posts: 172 - 02/01/2009 14:05:33    172063

Meath 1-17 Westmeath 0-07

Hard to value it. Westmeath went out 0-5 to 0-0 after 15 minutes but a goal got Meath going then and they took complete control of the game with Westmeath only kicking 2 more points in the 1st half and nothing in the second. Westmeath were missing alot of their 1st choice players and they werent exactly bursting themselves either. Meath however were missing goal chances which was worrying. Penalty miss by big Joe but he did put it over at least. Got the job done but Slow starts and missing goal chances would have you a bit worried.

Anyway job done. Kildare next week away.

LoyalRoyal (None) - Posts: 466 - 04/01/2009 16:02:59    172620

Westmeath had about three first team players playing whereas Meath had possibly 7 or 8. I wouldn't get carried away with the result. Having said that, I wasn't at the game so I'm sure there are some postives to be taken from the game.

Loyal2TheRoyal (Meath) - Posts: 4522 - 04/01/2009 17:22:12    172659

Good win, a win is a win as they say and can't beat the feeling. We must remember that no team training would have been done until now so what we saw was some good point taking and a victory. I said we needed to see Eoin Reilly play well, and he scored a couple of nice points as well as being involved in the goal. Queeney I also said wasn't listed but scored a point that bounced over, probably, after the goal, the biggest cheer of the day.
On the new rules, Shance Mac deserved to go I feel, not a good tackle, otherwise, I feel there is too much time wasted by the ref on giving out the black book, slows the game down too much, all he needs is to record the number, the player knows he is going to get a booking. Game was tame enough, not many challenges, thought O'Brien was a bit slow with bringing on some subs in the second half when the game was won, could have given them a bit more of a run, and when Shane Mac was yellow carded, they took an age to bring on young McKenna from Dunboyne, as soon as the tackle was made he should have been up because it was obvious Shane was going to get the yellow.
Overall, pleased with the win, Kildare next, best of luck to the lads!!

updaroyal (Meath) - Posts: 1132 - 04/01/2009 17:36:59    172670

A great result, couldn't have asked for any better. However Westmeath were a lot more experimental and were without a few regulars by all accounts. Kildare are next up and they will be a more difficult challenge in Newbridge.

men_of_49 (Meath) - Posts: 2024 - 04/01/2009 20:00:29    172744

updaroyal....
New rules state you can't bring on a player until next break in play, there was no delay on the sideline bringing on replacement for Shane Mc.
Overall very little learned today good to get a win and we need as many games as possible before the league kicks off, hopefully get over kildare next Sunday and get at least one more game in before the end of the month

buryit (Meath) - Posts: 4 - 04/01/2009 23:16:15    172815

Full back line was weak. We need a full back badly. Probably need to to put Kevin reilly or moyles here.
Mcinerney was also poor before he walked.
We have some of the best forwards in the country.
Midfield did ok and were much more successful when they started punching the ball instead of trying to catch it.

Skelly did very well and looks a tough nut. Regan good at centre back.

Big Joe looked heavy and slow but this time of year will suit him. I'm not so sure when ground hardens. He may only be used as a impact sub if we need to bomb balls into full forward line.

Again ward's pace is a worry. He'll finish if he gets the ball in space but wont beat a man or outpace a man.

Foley91 (Meath) - Posts: 418 - 05/01/2009 10:21:22    172911

Awins A win..can only beat whats in front of you..some players looked at little heavy..nothing that training and discipline wont shift.Pity Westmeath fielded a second string, Kildare should prove mush more difficult opposition, but a very good start none the less!

maco (Meath) - Posts: 357 - 05/01/2009 11:35:25    172968

Sorry buryit, you're right, forgot that minor detail, well said.
In fairness to Joe, thought he showed well for the ball and was good under the high ball into the full forward line, thought Andrew collins in the full back slot was a bit uneasy but then again it is only January and it was his first game but by God he is an awful big lad! Always thought highly of Seamus Kenny and after yesterday's showing, my mind hasn't shanged, think he's a very important player for our cause, good man for breaking ball and carrying it forward when we're under pressure in the backs. Thought Graham Reilly had a good showing, and would like to see David Bray given a few more chances to prove himself...reasons to be positive I think!

updaroyal (Meath) - Posts: 1132 - 05/01/2009 12:06:27    173003

Good win yesterday although I think Meath should have been as experimental as westmeath as it was evident that westmeath were more than happy to be out of the OB cup and concentrate on proper preparation for League/Champ. Maybe it is the best policy.
Great turnout of support at the match which was good to see.
Too early to say if any of the new boys would make a great impact on a Meath team but there were a few who definitely wouldn't. But again...good to see them trying new players in what is now a competition to be used more for trials than anything else seeing as there is no training in Nov/dec...Which actually is not a bad thing.

JonnieG (Meath) - Posts: 254 - 05/01/2009 13:36:57    173107

You can only beat whats put on front of you.

Thought our full back line were shaky.

Was very impressed with Terry Skelly, and thought Barry Regan was solid enough at CHB.

Midfield completely dominated but caught nothing at all - it seemed the instructions were to punch everything, this worked ok but against Dublin we won't win as much breaking ball.

Graham Reilly and Eoin Reilly were both excellent in the half forward line. I don't think David Bray did himself justice but I do feel there is a lot more to come from him.

Stephen Bray was as always excellent. Again it seemed instructions were to send everything into Big Joe. To his credit he won a lot of ball and a few frees. Cian Ward looked average at best.

All this said it was the first game of the year and there were a lot of positives to be taken and good foundation to be built on.

Big Dave (Meath) - Posts: 172 - 05/01/2009 14:55:25    173179

Hey Foley91, regards full back line I would have liked to have seen more of Derek Flood he deserves a crack at it. I agree alright we have some of the best forwards in the country the likes of Joe Sheridan and Brian Farrell and Cian Ward shows promise too. New manager seems to be going well hopefully we make an impression come summer

TruRoyal (Meath) - Posts: 1 - 05/01/2009 21:33:37    173522

Foley 91, don't think our full back line was that bad. McAnarney was doing well there til he went off and Harrington was solid enough, thought Collins did ok but needs to progress to hold the position. K Reilly will most likely get another chance at FB.
With Nestor, O'Rourke, Peadar, Farrell and (fingers crossed) GG to come back we have a serious bunch of forwards to choose from

buryit (Meath) - Posts: 4 - 05/01/2009 22:45:11    173570

lads hasn't big joe always looked good at this time of year? he's a great club player and good in the soft ground but when champo comes around he always looks off the pace, i just don't think he's got that extra yard needed for a good championship forward, altho a great man to come off the bench.

jaffacake (Meath) - Posts: 720 - 06/01/2009 14:09:01    173944