HL Div 2B: Wicklow master Meath in Arklow

February 17, 2014

Meath's Sean Heavey with Wicklow's Gary Byrne
Wicklow 1-15
Meath 0-8.

After comfortable beating Wicklow in the Kehoe Cup Meath were comprehensivly defeated by the Garden County in the opening round of the NHL at Arklow.

This game produced a very lively start with Wayne O'Gorman pointing within 15 sec and and Peter Durnin replying before the first minute had elapsed. However this was the only time that Meath held parity as Wicklow dominated the rest of the game and despite five missed frees they led by 6 pts at the short whistle. Andy O'Brien was the main threat from play with 3 pts. Wayne O'Gorman scored Wicklow's goal after 20 mins.

Half-time Wicklow 1-7 Meath 0-4.

Michael Lee scored 3 frees early in 2nd half to push Wicklow further ahead and were able to see out the game as in the last 10 minutes Meath dropped several frees into the Wicklow goalmouth to no avail so in the end a comfortable opener for the Garden County.

Wicklow: Ted Kennedy; Eugene Dunne, Stephen Kelly, Billy Cuddihy; Gary Byrne, Liam Kennedy, Shane Byrne; John Henderson, Ronan Keddy (0-1); Christy Moorehouse (0-2), Andy O'Brien (0-4), Jonathan O'Neill; NHL Mickey Lee (0-6 fs), Wayne O'Gorman (1-1), Daniel Staunton (0-1). Subs: Anto Byrne for Gary Byrne and T.J Hennessy for C Moorehouse.

Meath: Shane McGann; Cormac Reilly, Neil McLoughlin, David Donoghue; Peter Farrell, James Toher (0-3 fs), Shane Whitty; Sean Heavey, Darren Reilly (01f); Stephen Morris, Gary Kelly, Willie McGrath; Derek Doran, Peter Durnin (0-3), Adam Gannon (0-1). Sub: Ciaran Fitzsimmons for G Kelly, Michael Burke for D Reilly, Tom McGrath for Willie McGrath, Gavin McGowan for D Doran, Shane Brennan for N McLoughlin

Report by Ray Kirby

Most Read Stories