Leinster U21 'A' HC: Westmeath lift title after extra-time

July 28, 2011

Westmeath captain Alan McGrath accepts the Leinster U21 A HC trophy from Leinster Council Chairman Martin Skelly
Westmeath came from four points down in the first period of extra-time to defeat neighbours Meath in a thrilling Leinster U21 'A' HC final at Trim last night.

Westmeath 2-17
Meath 1-18

Having received a bye into the final (Wicklow withdrew from their scheduled semi-final tie), the visitors scored 1-3 without reply in the last eight minutes to deny the Royals victory. Cormac Boyle was Westmeath's match-winner, accounting for 1-1 of that tally.

A goal from Barry O'Meara had handed Westmeath the early initiative before Meath fought back to go into the break on level terms, 0-9 to 1-6. The Lake County regained the lead in the second half, only for Meath's top scorer Keith Keoghan to send the game to extra-time with an injury-time free (1-13 to 0-16).

When full forward Anthony Healy netted to give the Royals the lead for the first time at the end of the first period Westmeath looked to be in trouble, but Boyle's heroics ensured them of victory.

SCORERS - Westmeath: B O'Meara 1-6 (0-6f), C Boyle 1-4, A Clarke 0-5 (2f, 1 '65'), C Murphy, S Boylan 0-1 each. Meath: K Keoghan 0-8f, A Healy 1-3, D Doran 0-4, E Marsh, C Fitzsimons, A Gannon 0-1 each.

WESTMEATH - S McGovern; P Laide, A McGrath, C Scally; S Fagan, J Gilligan, A Fitzsimons; J Clarke, A Clarke; M Heffernan, C Boyle, N Dowdall; C Murphy, S Boylan, B O'Meara. Subs: C Murtagh for J Clarke (46), K Martin for A Clarke (e-t).

MEATH - S McGann; G Murphy, E Lynch, R Hatton; S Brennan, W Mahedy, C O'Shea; F Doran, E Marsh; C Fitzsimons, G Kelly, K Keoghan; D Doran, A Healy, D Maguire. Subs: T Raleigh for F Doran (35), M Doyle for Fitzsimons (37).
REF - G McGraith (Dublin).

Most Read Stories