Connacht MFC: Galway blitz Mayo

July 04, 2015

McHale Park Castlebar. INPHO

Galway 3-14

Mayo 1-3

Galway completely outplayed Mayo after conceding an early goal at Elvery's MacHale Park to cruise into the Connacht MFC final against Sligo in a fortnight's time.

No-one could have predicted such a one-sided affair after Liam Byrne pulled on a loose ball and found the net to give the hosts a 1-0 to 0-1 lead after six minutes. Galway, who were favoured by a strong wind in the opening half, responded in devastating fashion. Inspired by midfielders Colm Brennan and Cillian McDaid, they shot 11 points without reply, including four from McDaid and three from Eric Lee, to lead by 0-12 to 1-0 at the break.

Mayo had to wait until five minutes into the second half for their first point from Gerry Canavan. But their faint hopes of staging a comeback were ended emphatically when the Tribesmen scored three quick-fire goals per Conor Marsden (two) and Finnian O Laoi.

The man of the match was Galway's Brennan.

Galway - R O Beolain; C Mulry, D McHugh, I Kent; S Kelly, L Kelly, J Daly; C Brennan (0-1), C McDaid (0-4); E Lee (0-5, 2f, 1'45), C Marsden (2-3, 0-2f), F O Laoi (1-0); C Ryan (0-1), M Boyle, R Forde. Subs: C Brady for C Ryan, P O'Donnell for F O Laoi, B Goldrick for R Forde, E McDonagh for I Kent, H O'Toole for J Daly.

Mayo - P O'Malley; D Cosgrove, T Keane, J Maughan; P Lambert, R Collins, D Cannon (0-1); B Duffy, J Burke; D Quinn, J Lyons, R Egan; L Byrne (1-1), J Carr, G Canavan (0-1). Subs: J Irwin for B Duffy, C Reape for P Lambert, C Moran for D Quinn, M Keady for J Lyons; P Walsh for P O'Malley (BC), K Quinn for R Egan.

Referee - J Gilmartin.

Most Read Stories