All-Ireland success for hurlers

September 08, 2013

Mayo - All Ireland Minor Hurling Championship C winners
All Ireland Minor C Hurling Final

Mayo 1-15
Monaghan 0-8

Brendan Geraghty, in Ballinamore

Mayo Minor hurlers, and a large group of travelling supporters, made the long journey to Ballinamore on Saturday last for the All Ireland Minor C Hurling Final at Sean O'Heslin Park. After coming through group stages of the competition in impressive style, expectations were high that this young minor team could show the way for the other two Mayo teams competing in Croke Park later this month.

Even though conditions on the day were less than perfect, with heavy overnight rain, Mayo played superb hurling from the first to the final whistle. Early points from team Captain Fergal Boland had Mayo in the lead 5 points to 3 after 15 minutes, but worryingly for Team Manager Brian Finn and his energetic young selector John Regan, all of Mayo's points were from placed balls. But they need not have worried as in the 2nd quarter points from Corey Scahill (2), Morgan Lyons, Conor Canty and Sean Mulroy gave Mayo an 11 points to 5 half-time lead.

Monaghan played with the aid of the breeze in the 2nd half but an inspired half-time substitution paid instant dividends with replacement player Jason Coyne scoring almost directly from the throw-in to maintain Mayo's momentum. Coyne scored another point in the 15th minute and was central to the Mayo goal on 20 minutes when he crossed from the right for Castlebar's Corey Scahill to dispatch the sliotar to the Monaghan to but the result beyond doubt with Mayo in control, 1-14 to 0-7.

Monaghan pushed hard to get a consolation goal but great goalkeeping from Davog Freyne and a goal-line clearance from Shane Nugent from a penalty on 28 minutes meant that this score would never materialise. Shortly afterwards Referee James Clarke sounded the final whistle much to the delight of the Mayo supporters which included Taoiseach Enda Kenny and his wife Fionnuala. Great credit must go to all the Mayo fans that travelled the long distance to Ballinamore on a wet and windy day to see their young heroes in action. This win had a major significance for non-playing substitute David Kenny who will line out for the Mayo Minor Footballers on September 22nd hoping to complete a very unique double and join the annals with former dual Minor winners including Cork's Brian Murphy (1969).
Mayo: D Frayne; J Lyons, D Cunnane, S Coughlan; J Judge, S Nugent, J Murphy; J Morley, F Bolan (0-6,5f); S Healy, C Canty (0-1), M Lyons (0-2); C Scahill (1-3,1f), Z O'Toole, S Mulroy (0-1) Subs: R Comer for S Coughlan (13), M Phillips for Z O'Toole (29), J Coyne (0-2) for R Comer (h/t), R Byrne for S Mulroy (43) N Kenny for C Canty (55). Other unused panel members; D Kenny, J Forde, R Lee, R Kelly, J Gallagher, T Grimes, C Murphy, A Abbasi, D Harrison, C Collins, D Flannery and N Robinson.
Monaghan: M O'Dowd; R O'Neill, N Flood, N McSuibhne; A Kerr, C Boyle, T Bramley; A Curran, C McAnespie, R Curran (0-1), C McQuaid, S Mohan; J Dooley, D Meegan (0-7, 6f), T Forde Subs: M McSuibhne for J Dooley, S Tenor for S Mohan.

Most Read Stories