Connacht MFC final: Murtagh points the way for Rossies

July 16, 2012

Mayo's Patrick Durcan and Enda Smith of Roscommon during the 2012 Connacht MFC Final at Dr. Hyde Park. ©INPHO
MAYO 0-8

Five points from corner forward Diarmuid Murtagh propelled Roscommon to back-to-back Connacht MFC titles at Mayo's expense in Dr. Hyde Park on Sunday.

Roscommon made a bright start and raced into a four point lead courtesy of Ruaidhri McManus (2), Murtagh and Enda Smith.

Corner-back Kevin Lynch and captain Adam Gallagher got wind-assisted Mayo off the mark but they trailed by 0-3 to 0-6 at half-time.

Mayo bossed proceedings in the second half but they were left to rue 12 wides at the final whistle.

A point from Mayo substitute James Quinn reduced Roscommon's lead to the bare minimum but 'man-of-the-match' Murtagh pointed in stoppage time to make sure of the win.

Roscommon - S Mannion; P Neilan, D Barron, C Kenny; R Daly, C Hussey, N McInerney; U Harney, T Corcoran; C Compton, R McManus (0-2), E Smith (0-2); D Murtagh (0-5), K Finn (0-1), M Gunning. Subs: P Kenny for Gunning, K Kilcline for Compton, B Fannon for McManus, C Casserly for P Kenny.

Mayo - C O'Malley; D McHale, S Moran, K Lynch (0-1); P Durcan, C Burke, M Plunkett; B Mullen, E Lavin; A Gallagher (0-6), S Coen, D O'Connor; C Byrne, S Hennelly, S Regan. Subs: D Duffy for Lavin, J Geraghty for McHale, J Quinn (0-1) for Regan, R Coleman for Mullen.

Referee - S O hEithir (Galway).

Most Read Stories