Connacht U21FC: Smith strikes to send Mayo packing

March 22, 2012
Roscommon 1-11
Mayo 0-10

Donal Smith's 54th minute goal proved decisive as Roscommon pulled off a shock victory over Mayo in last night's Cadbury Connacht U21FC semi-final at Kiltoom.

It was Roscommon's third straight win over their neighbours in the grade and one they were full value for. But for some wayward shooting, Nigel Dineen's charges would surely have won by more.

Mayo, who dethroned All-Ireland champions Galway in the first round, were slow to settle as points from Niall Kilroy and Colin Compton saw the home side take an early lead. The visitors levelled through points from Aidan Walsh ('45') and Evan Regan, only for Donal Smith (free) and Cian Connolly to restore Roscommon's two-point advantage.

But Ray Dempsey's side dominated the second quarter to take a slender 0-8 to 0-7 into the break.

Roscommon gradually took control in the second half as the introduction of Scott Oates, John McManus and Cathal Shine gave them a lift. Boyle clubman Smith edged them ahead from a 50th minute free before he collected Ciaran Murtagh's high delivery and rifled home the only goal four minutes later.

The Rossies will now meet either Sligo or Leitrim in the final.

Roscommon - N Connaughton; R Stack, C Duignan, D Murray; C Daly, P Brogan, C Cafferky; F Kelly, N Daly (0-1); F Cregg (0-1), N Kilroy (0-1), D Clabby; C Connolly (0-1), C Compton (0-1), D Smith (1-4). Subs: S Oates (0-1) for Clabby, J McManus for Connolly, C Shine for Kelly, C Murtagh (0-1) for Cregg.

Mayo - P Mannion; M Walsh, N Freeman, D Gavin; C Crowe, S McDermott, M Forde; A Walsh (0-1), D Geraghty; A Farrell, C O'Connor (0-3), B Harrison; E Regan (0-2), D Coen, C O'Shea (0-3). Subs: J Shaughnessy (0-1) for Harrison, D Kirby for Farrell, C Walsh for Coen, A O'Toole for Regan.

Ref - R McBrien (Leitrim).

For more information on the Cadbury GAA Championship go to the official Facebook page or follow it Twitter.

Most Read Stories