NFL 1: Mayo tear Galway apart

February 27, 2011

Alan Campbell of Mayo and Gary O'Donnell of Galway during the Allianz FL Division 1 game at Tuam - INPHO
Mayo inflicted a 2-14 to 0-12 defeat on hapless Galway at Tuam Stadium.

Jason Doherty bagged a goal in either half as the visitors eased to victory.

The winners delivered a powerful performance in the first half and led at the break thanks to corner forward Doherty's goal: 1-7 to 0-7.

The stiff breeze was wreaking havoc with both sets of players in the opening stages, with a succession of wides and under-hit efforts at either end before left half forward Joe Bergin finally opened the scoring for the Tribesmen.

It was 0-5 to 0-3 after 17 minutes: Cormac Bane had stroked over a brace for the hosts before Alan Dillon and Andy Moran registered for Mayo. Sean Armstong added to Galway's tally and Dillon and Armstrong then exchanged frees.

Aidan Campbell drew Mayo back within a point, 0-5 to 0-4. Then Jason Doherty ran straight through the Galway defence to kick a great goal after 22 minutes, giving the visitors a two-point lead.

The gap went up to three but Armstrong dinked over a Galway point to keep the home team very much in touch. A converted Alan Dillon free sent James Horan's men in with a three-point cushion at the break, 1-7 to 0-7.

Mayo made a blistering start to the second half and led by five after quickfire points from Kevin McLoughlin and Campbell.

The winners were in cruise control now as Doherty bagged his second goal of the game and followed up with a point to make it a ten-point game, 2-11 to 0-7.

Amazingly, it was 2-13 to 0-7 with twelve minutes remaining as McLoughlin added to his own personal haul.

Galway finished with a bit of flurry but the day belonged very much to Mayo.

Mayo: R Hennelly; T Cunniffe, A Feeney, C Barrett; R Feeney, G Cafferkey, J Burke; R McGarrity, J Kilcullen; A Campbell (0-3, 2 frees), A Dillon (0-5, 4 frees), K McLoughlin (0-3); A O'Shea (0-1 free), A Moran (0-1), J Doherty (2-1). Subs: C Hallinan for A Feeney (half-time), P Gardiner for J Burke (51 mins), J Moran for A Campbell (60 mins).

Galway: P Lally; A Burke, C Forde, D Reilly; G O'Donnell, F Hanley, K Brady; P Conroy, E Hoare; J Bergin (0-3), C Bane (0-5, two frees), G Sice; S Armstrong (0-4, 1 '45', 2 frees), D Cummins, C Kenny. Subs : D O'Reilly for D Reilly (26 mins), O Concannon for D Cummins (26 mins), B Blake for P Conroy (50 mins), D Mullahy for C Forde (53 mins), N Coyne for K Brady (60 mins).

Referee: D Fathaigh (Longford).

Most Read Stories