Leinster MHC final: Ten out of ten for Murphy

July 07, 2013
Kilkenny 1-18
Laois 0-8

Full-forward Alan Murphy registered 10 points as Kilkenny romped to a 54th Leinster MHC success at the expense of Laois in Croke Park.

The young Cats laid down an early marker when Murphy set up Michael Kenny for a goal in the 4th minute and they raced into a 1-4 to 0-1 lead after just 10 minutes.

Points from Ciaran McEvoy (65), Darragh Cripps and Joe Campion got the O'Moore County back in the hunt but normal service was soon restored and, with Murphy pointing the way, Kilkenny went in at the break with a 1-11 to 0-5 advantage.

Murphy started the second half where he finished the first when pointing a free after just two minutes.

There was no way back for the Pat Critchley managed Laois side who now head for the qualifiers while Kilkenny advance to the last four of the All-Ireland MFC.

Kilkenny - Darren Brennan; James Tyrrell, Evan Cody, Ciaran Wallace; James Maher (0-1), Jason Stanley, Darragh Joyce; Niall Mullins, Ciaran Ryan (0-2); Liam Blanchfield (0-2), Garry Kelly, Kevin Kenny (0-1); Daniel O'Connor, Michael Kenny (1-0), Alan Murphy (0-10). Subs: Vinny Teehan (0-1) for Kelly, John Walsh for M Kenny, Eoin Kenny for K Kenny, Luke Scanlon (0-1) for Mullins, Conor Delaney for Ryan.

Laois - Enda Rowland; Gavin Dunne, Ryan Mullaney, Evan Cuddy; Dwane Palmer, Ciaran McEvoy (0-2), Ronan Delahunty; Liam O'Connell, Colm Stapleton; John Lennon, Leigh Bergin, Aidan Corby (0-2); Darragh Cripps (0-1), Joe Campion (0-1), Stephen Bergin. Subs: Ciaran Collier (0-1) for Cripps, Mark Kavanagh (0-1) for L Bergin, Kevin Bergin for S Bergin, Ronan Broderick for Lennon, Jack Delaney for Stapleton.

Ref: John Keenan (Wicklow)

Most Read Stories