Galway SFC final: three-in-a-row for Corofin

October 11, 2015

Corofin's Ronan Steede and Colm Colleran of Mountbellow-Moylough

Corofin 3-13

Mountbellew/Moylough 0-12

All-Ireland club champions Corofin are three-in-a-row champions in Galway for the first time after seeing of Mountbellew/Moylough at Tuam Stadium.

Ronan Steede, Martin Farragher and sub Ian Burke all found the net as the green and golds captured their 17th Frank Fox Cup in impressive fashion.

The sides were level three times in the opening quarter before Stephen Rochford's all-conquering charges took control when Steede raised the first green flag in the 20th minute. The challengers, who were seeking the first title in nearly 30 years, were rocked for a second time two minutes later when Farragher finished to the net to help Corofin to a 2-6 to 0-8 interval lead.

Mountbellew/Moylough resumed with a pair of pointed frees from Cathal Kenny to reduce the gap to two, but Corofin kept them at arm's length with scores from Burke, Gary Sice and Martin Farragher. Burke eventually put the result beyond doubt with a fisted goal in the dying stages to bring his tally for the afternoon to 1-3.

Corofin - T Healy; P Kelly, K Fitzgerald, C Cunningham; C McGrath, A Burke, L Silke; D Burke, R Steede (1-1); G Sice (0-1f), M Lundy (0-1), D Wall (0-1); J Leonard (0-1f), Martin Farragher (1-4, 0-1f), Michael Farragher. Subs: I Burke (1-3) for J Leonard, K Molloy for C Cunningham, C Silke for P Kelly, S Monaghan for D Wall, J Canney for Martin Farragher, K Murphy (0-1) for G Sice.

Mountbellew/Moylough - B Donnellan (0-1f); G Sweeney, D Hogan, C Duffy; C Mannion, C Colleran, A McHugh; J Bergin, M Barrett; S Boyle, M Daly, P Donnellan; C Kenny (0-8, 7f), E Finnerty (0-1), B McHugh (0-2). Subs: A Sweeney for C Colleran, N McDonagh for A McHugh, J Meehan for P Donnellan, S Sweeney for M Daly, D McHugh for D Hogan.

Referee - S Hehir.

Most Read Stories