It's official

seanorinn

Can you name the six players that you say are dropped. ???
Johnson, nesty, lyng, reilly, mackey, sheridan...
all listed in the article that was the stimulus for this discussion
keep up John
cav01 , 10/11/2011 at 16:20

Ok have you spoken to any of these players as to why they are not currently on the list. I suggest you do first you will be surprised by some of the answers. Two in particular are carrying long term injuries and I expect once sorted they will be available for the county again. I asked a question about one other player since 2005 how many games has he started for the senior team and finished. ??? cav01 I am well up to spec as to whom is gone and not gone your list is flawed

The Quiet Man (Cavan) - Posts: 4602 - 10/11/2011 17:05:21    1066830

Cavo your constantly going on about why Val has not named a panel yet which is ridiculous.. Name 5 counties in Ireland who have name panels for next season Cavo? Cavan have always named a panel in December the last few years so get over it!

FoolsGold (Cavan) - Posts: 2896 - 10/11/2011 17:31:14    1066864

Richiej and Cav01 im sure there are loads of people like myself who view this forum regularly for a bit if craic and see whats going on without feeling the need to post.The reason the backlash has come is because this moaning is going on and on and its a bit tiresome.Not everyone in Cavan agrees with you.Val is there to do his job,he doesnt need to hold a weekly press conference to explain himself surely????
Cav01 i said you were talking about sacking val-while you didnt say it it is surely your most logical conclusion or are you going to spend the whole year giving out about every little thing he does or as im sure you might say we could get someone "who knows what hes doing"

As for the panel.let them train away.for the record i dont think he should drop johnston (hes a class footballer, no doubt) but i heard he was disruptive in the camp this year and didnt perform on the field so theres two reasons straight away.smith should still be there i think but the rest are expendable.

The situation about morrison i dont really know much about tbh.But i would imagine he would work similar to mickey whelan with dublin-a bit of old school nous etc.

kanu (Cavan) - Posts: 181 - 10/11/2011 17:47:33    1066877

Val is a decent manager and a decent bloke by all accounts, why would two poisoned numpties wage such a campign against him. Although the regularly use the royal we they are not representative of anyone other than themselves. They do tacidally support each other but they sure are numpties in fact they are the best in the business. There is a lot of work to be done I would suggest that Val and the players ignore this and focus on the job in hand, and more luck to them.

ochonlir (Cavan) - Posts: 4343 - 10/11/2011 19:19:14    1066933

Sheva7, Jelly played more golf than football last year. Manager has final word on selection, if he doesn't he shouldn't be there. From what I have heard there was disruption in the camp and its up to the manager to stamp that out. I think some of the lads cut have fallen into a comfort zone on the county football scene, hopefully this will spur the lads on and they'll show real form to warrant a recall in the New Year. In any case this isn't the NFL Draft, as you said Shev, Val won't be there forever so players/selections will change.

ballygowanwater (Cavan) - Posts: 207 - 11/11/2011 08:37:57    1067053

Folks, you should all rexlax, it's November, the off season, wait until or 3 or 4 games into the National League, mid March before making a call on the set up. If Val Andrews can get the county back to where they were in the summer of 2001 over the next couple of years then I for one would be quite happy. When he left in 2001 we had a team good enough to play in a National Final the following year.

It's a slow burner and there are no immediate quick fixes to the problem.

kildare blue (Cavan) - Posts: 578 - 11/11/2011 11:37:33    1067158

Folks, you should all rexlax, it's November, the off season, wait until or 3 or 4 games into the National League, mid March before making a call on the set up. If Val Andrews can get the county back to where they were in the summer of 2001 over the next couple of years then I for one would be quite happy. When he left in 2001 we had a team good enough to play in a National Final the following year.

It's a slow burner and there are no immediate quick fixes to the problem.
kildare blue , 11/11/2011 at 11:37

that makes two of us.

The Quiet Man (Cavan) - Posts: 4602 - 11/11/2011 12:29:57    1067206

onchonloir is back..!all is right with the world..welcome back mate..absolute ledgend..!! your da eamon dunphy of hoganstand..!!

asdfg (Cavan) - Posts: 320 - 11/11/2011 18:17:13    1067517

Time will tell

cav01 (Cavan) - Posts: 325 - 12/11/2011 11:20:15    1067664

kildare blue

Folks, you should all rexlax, it's November, the off season, wait until or 3 or 4 games into the National League, mid March before making a call on the set up.

We have had over a year (this time around)to evaluate the managers ability, and the set up.
Barely maintained Division 3 status, finishing one point above relagation with the team scoring less and conceeding more then in any of the Carr years. FACT
Didn't win away from Home in the National League in 2011 FACT
A record in 2011 of 3 wins in 9 competitive games
Dropped 9 players 2 weeks before championship FACT
Brought in 10 under 21's to the championship team 2 weeks before first game (2 of which declined the invitation) FACT
9 point defeat to Donegal (at home) playing with 2 sweepers, one of which was a debutant forward, followed by an 11 point defeat to Longford (again at home). FACT
blamed these losses on the under 21 campaign hindering his preparation. FACT
Has had the joint manager step down FACT
Brought in a coach in preparation for 2012 who was available the year before FACT
Dropped a host of recognised inter-county quality players FACT
Brought in players that struggle to regularly start with their club teams FACT
Made Sean Johnson his Captain in 2011, and drops him in 2012 FACT

But your right, maybe I judge him too soon, perhaps waiting until 4 out of the 7 national league games games are done with is the best time to judge the man.
Maybe I over-reacted...
maybe...

cav01 (Cavan) - Posts: 325 - 12/11/2011 15:36:54    1067738

cav01

kildare blue

Folks, you should all rexlax, it's November, the off season, wait until or 3 or 4 games into the National League, mid March before making a call on the set up.

We have had over a year (this time around)to evaluate the managers ability, and the set up.
Barely maintained Division 3 status, finishing one point above relagation with the team scoring less and conceeding more then in any of the Carr years. FACT
Didn't win away from Home in the National League in 2011 FACT
A record in 2011 of 3 wins in 9 competitive games
Dropped 9 players 2 weeks before championship FACT
Brought in 10 under 21's to the championship team 2 weeks before first game (2 of which declined the invitation) FACT
9 point defeat to Donegal (at home) playing with 2 sweepers, one of which was a debutant forward, followed by an 11 point defeat to Longford (again at home). FACT
blamed these losses on the under 21 campaign hindering his preparation. FACT
Has had the joint manager step down FACT
Brought in a coach in preparation for 2012 who was available the year before FACT
Dropped a host of recognised inter-county quality players FACT
Brought in players that struggle to regularly start with their club teams FACT
Made Sean Johnson his Captain in 2011, and drops him in 2012 FACT

But your right, maybe I judge him too soon, perhaps waiting until 4 out of the 7 national league games games are done with is the best time to judge the man.
Maybe I over-reacted...
maybe...

kinda hard to argue with those facts.. seems to be a make it up as you go along kinda set up.
if we hit div 4 we might get some action from clubs

sheva7 (Cavan) - Posts: 498 - 12/11/2011 15:52:51    1067742

Maybe you didnt over react. FACT

legend 44 (Cavan) - Posts: 154 - 12/11/2011 15:56:48    1067744

maybe the clubs need to react...FACT!

sheva7 (Cavan) - Posts: 498 - 12/11/2011 16:02:07    1067749

"Dropped a host of recognised inter-county quality players"

When you said this did you actually mean "Dropped Sean Johnston"...? James Reilly has not been dropped. Lyng has never proved himself at county level and neither have Sheridan Mackey or Nesty. The players dropped have won nothing of note with Cavan at any level and have experience of little else but failure at county level. Johnston is the only player from those dropped that is unquestionably county standard.

Inactive x5 (Cavan) - Posts: 1452 - 12/11/2011 17:57:24    1067791

He didn't drop any quality players, because we do not have any quality players...FACT!

Sergeant_Slash (Cavan) - Posts: 2182 - 12/11/2011 18:07:52    1067796

JonSmith

"Dropped a host of recognised inter-county quality players"

When you said this did you actually mean "Dropped Sean Johnston"...? James Reilly has not been dropped. Lyng has never proved himself at county level and neither have Sheridan Mackey or Nesty. The players dropped have won nothing of note with Cavan at any level and have experience of little else but failure at county level. Johnston is the only player from those dropped that is unquestionably county standard.

I stand corrected on "host of recognised inter-county quality players", please read instead Dropped cavan leading scorer over the last 5 seasons with 151pts (4-139). FACT

cav01 (Cavan) - Posts: 325 - 12/11/2011 19:01:57    1067809

Sergeant_Slash

He didn't drop any quality players, because we do not have any quality players...FACT!

and we never will have any if the present management have their way. FACT

sheva7 (Cavan) - Posts: 498 - 12/11/2011 19:32:01    1067819

and we never will have any if the present management have their way. FACT
sheva7 , 12/11/2011 at 19:32

you are a bit confused sheva7 and you seem to be contradicting yourself ? not long ago you were saying that Mr Hyland was the greatest thing since slice pan now you are saying we never will have any if the present management have their way. FACT
sheva7 , 12/11/2011 at 19:32

You do realise that Mr Hyland is part of the current management make up your mind will you please.
My opinion for what it is worth what is happening right now is good and Cavan will reap the rewards roll on Division2

The Quiet Man (Cavan) - Posts: 4602 - 13/11/2011 10:07:15    1067902

Sean o Rinn
Who do you think our starting 15 will be who woll bring us to division 2 that you keep harping on about ?

tony.montana (Cavan) - Posts: 179 - 13/11/2011 11:43:15    1067913

Sean o Rinn
Who do you think our starting 15 will be who woll bring us to division 2 that you keep harping on about ?
tony.montana , 13/11/2011 at 11:43

This is the second week in November and you are asking me to name the starting 15 now in fairness not even Val Andrews would know this. I am saying I like what I see and I am very happy the way things are. We Cavan will do fine. John

The Quiet Man (Cavan) - Posts: 4602 - 13/11/2011 12:40:51    1067931