Reasons why Cavan are useless

I am no expert in cavan football, but am a passionate fan, well not so passionate the last few years, and this summer, well i think i will start supporting the local cricket team instead. Over the last decade it has been the same pattern in my eyes. A bit of promise in the Mckenna cup, mediocre league campaignybrings promise for ulster championship, one win and our heads grow bigger than those at that pumpkin festival. Then usually a crushing defeat in ulster, followed by a mammoth collaspe in the qualifiers. So where does the problem lie. Management maybe. but i would be willing to give another year at least, provided he concentrates on managing the team, and not making sure he is pleasing the media with the usual gebrisis. To be a Cavan player. As soon a a gawson from the back arse of cavan pulls on the cavan jersey and gets a run out in the mckenna cup, league or championship, in my view i think they think they had made it and are happy enough. they go back to their clubs and recieve the plaudits of their club mates and are on cloud nine. tats it, job done. lose a ulster semi final or a league game, have a shower, then hit the town and prance about the pubs and nightclubs thinking there great, get a few pints thrown up on the house, and maybe some bird might take a fancy to him, and sure then it will have been a good night all round. thats where there ambition lies to be a 'county player' is recogniton enough for most of them.Kerry, tyrone, dub players, sam is the goal. cavan players, well been the big man in teh local area, ambition achieved. johnstone is our best player. fact. then why a few months ago did he come out and say he was thinking of travelling this summer, that there is more to life than football. imagine sean cavanagh, alan brogan, gooch etc saying that? management not the major problem. the players. attitudes.

rising1916 (Cavan) - Posts: 187 - 13/07/2009 00:10:25    343123

Would tend to agree with a lot of your points there. Although I would say its a major factor rather than THE major factor

Crash Bang Wallop (None) - Posts: 268 - 13/07/2009 00:29:36    343155

Rising 1916, while your post was hilarious and riddled with spelling blunders, I thoroughly agree with your central point! It's easy to slouch here at a keyboard and whinge about the efforts of amateurs representing their counties but while I would never criticise a players ability, I'll sure as hell criticise their attitude. And my god, the Cavan players attitude is deplorable. The constant whiff of walkouts and the like that surround the panel is farcical. These prats should remember that they've done nothing in the game before they proceed to prance around their locales like royalty.

Cavan1947 (Cavan) - Posts: 215 - 13/07/2009 00:39:19    343167

why cavan are useless :

COMMITMENT NOT GOOD ENOUGH COMPARED TO OTHER COUNTIES
PLAYERS DONT LIKE BEING TOLD WHAT TO DO
TO FOND OF LATE NIGHTS
FOOTBALL WITHIN CLUBS IS NOT GOOD ENOUGH
LIVING IN THE SHADOWS OF PREVIOUS PLAYERS EG;DERMOT MCCABE
TOO MANY PLAYERS IN PANEL THAT HAVE NEVER PLAYED SENIOR FOOTBALL WITHIN THE COUNTY
BADLY MADE MANGEMENT DECISIONS EG,WHY WASNT JAMES REILLY TOLD TO SWITCH/CHANGE HIS KICKOOUT AGAINST ANTRIM,WE HAD NO MIDFIELD TO CONTEST
DEPENDING TOO MUCH ON SEAN JOHNSTON
IN EXPERIENCE OF SELECTORS EG; PETER REILLY
LACK OF TRAINING FACILITIES WITHIN THE COUNTY (THE COUNTY BOARD DO NOT EVEN HAVE A GYM FOR THE PLAYERS TO GO TO,THEY USE THE RADISSION WHEN NEEDS BE,THEY SHOULD HAVE THERE OWN TRAINING COMPLEX FOR ALL AGE GROUPS BUILT A BREFFNI PARK TO INCLUDE SWIMMING POOL,ASTRO AREA ETC ETC)
AND FINALLY,TOO MANY CHEIFS,NOT ENOUGH INDIANIANS

gaelsutd (Cavan) - Posts: 602 - 13/07/2009 09:31:40    343274

Commitment commitment commitment all the way.There are players in the squad that put in as much as any other county but not every player which is the problem and its a lot of the lads that dont quite give the total dedication that are starting.This must be damaging morale in the camp.I know one lad that sat on the bench most of this year and he has barely had a drink pass his lips since county training started yet up at college and from nights out in different places iv seen players that were starting for Cavan most games out full as a fish quite regularly.One lad in particular was drunk 2 or 3 nights a week and then i'd see him playing on the weekend for Cavan.

beer baron (Cavan) - Posts: 3916 - 13/07/2009 10:46:11    343358

Croke Park for being so inconsiderate in having fixtures the same weekend as Oxygen!!!!! I wonder just how many of the Cavan players arrived in Aughrim from Oxygen, at a guess at least 4 or 5.

aceofspades (Cavan) - Posts: 257 - 13/07/2009 12:05:35    343477

I think you will find there is a gyn in Breffni Park, no swimming pool however but a gym yes.
commitment now come on they trained like most BUT here is the problem trained we need a good trainer first, all county players must train at the home grounds not having to travel to Dublin one night and Cavan the next, all training must be done at home this is a start. I would say if we get the home work done it will be a start.

respect (Cavan) - Posts: 167 - 13/07/2009 12:25:35    343511

hang on a minute gaelsutd the Cavan team is not neglected in any way. Read last years accounts and see how much was spent on the County Team. Does any other County team have their own swimming pool. I doubt it. Whatever is the cause of our inept performances it is surely not lack of facilities.
The problem in Cavan is that there is no good club football being played. When have you seen any of our top teams play two good matches in a row. The fixtures are changed to suit the county team when the county players should be getting as much match practice as possible.

marita (None) - Posts: 469 - 13/07/2009 12:35:13    343534

look at every other county board. Cavan is the only page with comments coming in left right and centre. i suggest for all yous people to stop the talking and giving out which yous always do to an extreme state. go out and train and get better or something usefull apart from giving out on this. we are the only county with so much people writing in. its a joke to look at really yous all should take a look and yous will know what i mean.

cavangeals08 (Cavan) - Posts: 63 - 13/07/2009 12:44:03    343558

cavangeals08, maybe this is the only way the county board will listen because they just don't want to talk to anyone who might have a different opinion from them, they know it all and also there is that many yes men in the county board that clubs just don't want to be seen to rock the boat do as we say or else.???

respect (Cavan) - Posts: 167 - 13/07/2009 13:27:48    343660

GEALSTUD, possibly the single biggest hurler on the ditch post in living memory.

instead of you lot crying, suggest some solutions, better yet go out and train a u10 team or something if you want to help the future on the county

milhouse (Cavan) - Posts: 469 - 13/07/2009 13:41:08    343688

Martin McElkenan said wen he was with cavan that they will go nowhere because the players arent willing to give the commitment that players in other counties are giving to do well.There is no leaders in the cavan team.lyng and McCabe are probly the two best leaders but they arent playing.

hoy (Cavan) - Posts: 307 - 13/07/2009 15:45:08    343899

rising1916 - in addition to being witty you are spot on with your assessment. Living outside the county, I too don't pretend to be an expert on Cavan players but I can't believe that there aren't enough talented players in the county that can do justice to the jersey. What is sadly missing is real committment on a consistent basis. We saw some against Fermanagh but a complete absence in the following games against Antrim and Wicklow. Perhaps we can blame the manager to some extent we've had a succession of managers in the last number of years and nothing has changed.
I think the players need to take a real hard look at themselves. Are they satisfied with one championship win against Fermanagh? Judging by the players celebrations after that game you would think that we had won the Ulster title. Sure there is nothing wrong with celebrating a win but would the Tyrones, Corks and Dublins of this world be celebrating in this way? I think not, they would be focussing on producing a higher level of committment in the next game and the one after etc. That's really what it takes but our players don't seem to want to do this enough.

CavanManInMayo (Cavan) - Posts: 14 - 13/07/2009 17:57:54    344249

rising1916 is tht you paddy??

cavangenius (Cavan) - Posts: 33 - 14/07/2009 21:46:56    346103

lyng a leader?????? talking about commitment, joe kiernan took a training session with louth footballers when the players were just out of the shower joe came in demanding 4 more laps,, the players took this as a joke so said f$$$ off joe's said "thats why you's are where you's are"... i think the cavan players have this mind set also and until that changes cavan football is gonna struggle

jinky15 (Cavan) - Posts: 271 - 15/07/2009 00:15:44    346422

MILHOUSE.read the tiltle of the post..think before you type

gaelsutd (Cavan) - Posts: 602 - 16/07/2009 12:24:45    348185