FL4 round-up: Model march on

March 19, 2017

Wexford's Ben Brosnan.
©INPHO/Donall Farmer.

It's five wins from five for promoted Wexford, who beat London by 0-13 to 0-9 in Wexford Park.

The Exiles, who are bottom of the table, led by three at the break, but Seamus McEnaney's men did enough to guarantee themselves third-tier football in 2018.

Unbeaten Westmeath are surely set to join the Slaneysiders in Division Three as they moved up the table onto nine points courtesy of a comfortable 0-19 to 0-14 defeat of Wicklow in Mullingar.

Westmeath's Kelvin Reilly with Anthony McLoughlin of Wicklow.
Pic via Daniel Boyce.

And there were goals from Iain Corbett and Darragh Treacy in each half at Newcastlewest as Limerick enjoyed an exciting 2-11 to 0-15 win over Leitrim.

Wexford - C Swaine; B Malone, R Devereux, M Furlong; E Nolan, J Wadding, T Rossiter; D Waters, C Kehoe; K O'Grady, B Brosnan (0-11, 6f, 1'45), J Leacy; C Lyng (0-2), J Tubritt, C Carty. Subs: N Rossiter for B Malone (BC), M O'Regan for C Carty, P J Banville (0-1) for T Rossiter, A Flynn for J Leacy, D Shanley for J Tubritt, N Hughes (0-1) for C Kehoe.

London - G McEvoy; P Butler, C Coyne, C O'Neill; M Jordan, R Jones, D Carrabine; A McDermott, M Carroll; E Murray, M Gottsche, J Daly; R Mason (0-7, 4f), L Gavaghan (0-1), D Moore (0-1). Subs: J Gartlan for D Moore, K Butler for J Daly, A Moyles for M Carroll, C Dunne for R Jones, D Ryan for D Carrabine, C Dunne for M Jordan.

Referee - K Murphy.


Westmeath - D Quinn; M McCallon, K Maguire, F Boyle; J Dolan, J Gonoud, N Mulligan; A Stone (0-2), G Egan (0-4); K Reilly, P Sharry (0-1'45), D Glennon; K Martin, J Heslin (0-10, 6f), D Lynch (0-1). Subs: A Gaughan for D Glennon, S Corcoran for N Mulligan, T McDaniel (0-1) for K Martin, C McCormack for K Reilly, S Dempsey for P Sharry, K Daly for D Lynch.

Wicklow - R Lambert; E Murtagh, R O'Brien (0-1), J Snell; D Hayden (0-1), D Healy, J Crowe; R Finn, A McLoughlin (0-2); C Ffrench, S Kelly, J McGrath; Paddy Byrne (0-1), S Furlong (0-8, 6f), T Kelly (0-1). Subs: G Allen for Paddy Byrne, M Kenny for J McGrath, D Boothman for E Murtagh, Padraig Byrne for C Ffrench, C Hyland for R Finn, C O'Gorman for J Crowe.

Referee - S Laverty.


Limerick - B Scanlon; G Noonan, J McCarthy, S O'Dea; B Fanning, C Fahy, P Quinn; D Treacy (1-0), D Ward; P Nash, C Sheehan, J Naughton; I Corbett (1-2), D Neville (0-2), G Collins (0-4, 3f). Subs: T McCarthy for P Quinn, S O'Carroll (0-1) for P Nash, S McSweeney (0-2f) for J Naughton, P Scanlon for G Collins, J McGarry for D Ward.

Leitrim - B Flynn; P Maguire, A Armstrong, M Murphy; W McKeon (0-1), D Wrynn, O Madden; S Moran, M Plunkett; J Rooney, E Mulligan (0-5f), G Plunkett; R Kennedy (0-2), D Moran, N O'Donnell (0-4, 3f). Subs: P Dolan for S Moran, B Gallagher (0-2) for D Moran, K Beirne (0-1) for N O'Donnell, C Gaffney for G Plunkett, N Plunkett for O Madden.

Referee - S Hehir.

Most Read Stories