Connacht MFC: Tribesmen make it three-in-a-row

July 09, 2017

Galway's Padraic Costello and Karl McKenna of Sligo

Connacht final day has got off to a good start for Galway as the Tribesmen captured their third MFC title in-a-row.

Stephen Joyce's team recorded a 3-11 to 0-10 victory over Sligo in today's curtain-raiser at Pearse Stadium.

Conor Campbell's 17th minute goal sent the hosts on the road to victory and substitute Daniel Kenny and Padraic Costello wrapped up the victory with second-half goals.

The team in maroon and white enjoyed a 1-6 to 0-6 advantage at the break and went on to outscore the Yeats County by 2-5 to 0-4 on the restart, despite losing the services of Conor Newell to a red card midway through the second period.

Darragh Silke top scored for the winners with 0-4 (3 frees) while Conall Ryan and Red Og Murphy hit three points each for the losing outfit.

Galway - O Burke; E McFadden, S Mulkerrin, G Burke; J Glynn, S Fitzgerald, L Boyle (0-1); M Barrett (0-2), E Murphy (0-1); B Harlowe, D Silke (0-4, 3f), C Campbell (1-0); C Newell, P Costello (1-1), M Kerrigan (0-1). Subs: D Kenny (1-0) for B Harlowe, L Costello for M Kerrigan, R Cunninghan (0-1) for P Costello, C Potter for L Boyle, J Kyne for G Burke.

Sligo - A Davey; J Ellis, B Cox, E Lyons; B Tuohy, E Lavin, O Conlon; N Colsh (0-1), B Gorman (0-1); C O'Dowd, L Towey (0-1), K McKenna; R Anderson, R Og Murphy (0-3, 2f), C Ryan (0-3). Subs: M Cahill for C O'Dowd, J Stephenson for K McKenna, J Weir for B Tuohy, R Walsh (0-1) for R Anderson, J McMunn for E Lavin, O Grehan for N Colsh.

Referee - L Devenney.

Most Read Stories