Ring Cup playoff: Coyne double downs Mayo

June 14, 2015

Mayo's Adrian Brennan and Cillian Egan of Roscommon.
©INPHO/Cathal Noonan.

Roscommon 2-14
Mayo 0-13

Roscommon will take Mayo's place in the Christy Ring Cup next year after winning today's promotion/relegation playoff at Pearse Stadium.

Justin Campbell's men parked their Nicky Rackard Cup celebrations to win through thanks to a pair of second half goals from half-time sub John Coyne. It was the Rossies' second piece of silverware in eight days as this game also doubled up as the Connacht IHC final.

It was 0-7 apiece at half-time after the sides had been level three times. Captain Micheal Kelly had a penalty saved in the first half, but Roscommon weren't to be denied after the restart.

As well as Coyne and Kelly, Jerry Fallon was also in fine scoring form for the winners, while Kenny Feeney hit 0-7 for Mayo.

Roscommon - N Fallon; I Delaney, P Kellehan, L Kilcline; D Leonard, M Kelly (0-3, 1f, 1'65), T Seale; C Dolan, J Kilkenny (0-1); J Moran (0-1), R O'Meara (0-1), J Fallon (0-3, 2f); C Egan (0-1), K Kilkenny (0-1), A Murphy. Subs: J Coyne (2-3, 0-2f) for J Fallon, C Kelly for C Dolan, A Finnerty for A Murphy, E Flanagan for J Moran, G Fallon for I Delaney.

Mayo - D O'Brien; A Brennan, E Collins, B Hunt; K Kiely, P O'Flynn, N Casey; D Kenny (0-1), K McDermott (0-1); F Boland (0-3, 1f), A Lyons, K Feeney (0-7, 4f, 1'65); S Hoban, C Scahill (0-1), S Boland. Subs: S Regan for S Boland, G Nolan for A Lyons, S Morley for N Casey, D Harrison for K McDermott, F Lyons for K Kiely.

Referee - D O'Driscoll.

Most Read Stories