Leinster Club JFC final: Castleknock crowned champions

November 26, 2012

Castleknock were crowned Leinster Club junior football champions following a five-point victory over St Fintan's at Parnell Park yesterday.

The Dublin champions eased into a 0-7 to 0-1 half-time lead and they effectively sealed the victory when Rory Corcoran found the back of the St Fintan's net in the 38th minute.

Their Wexford opponents scored a consolation goal from substitute Niall Moore five minutes from time while they finished the game with 14-men after Paddy Keane was dismissed late on.

Castleknock - A Griffith; J King, G Hannigan, P Mulvihill; T Quinn, T Shields, V Turner; S Boland (0-1), J Tunney (0-2); D Curran, C Daly, M Griffin; T Corcoran (0-1), R Corcoran (1-5), D Carlos (0-1). Subs: C Neville for Quinn, S Lynch for Griffin, Griffin for Lynch.

St Fintan's - P Mc Donnell; E Whitmore, F Staples, J Staples; B Hughes, K Day, J Rossiter; J Rowe, P Doyle; C Day, C Sinnott, D Shanley (0-2); J Wadding, P Keane, C O'Brien (0-2). Subs: N Moore (1-0) for Day, T Power (0-1) for Rowe, B Lacey for Turner, D Kelleher for Shanley, A Murphy for Rossiter.

Referee - J Hickey.

Most Read Stories