Limerick SHC: Mulcahy goal proves decisive for Kilmallock

October 08, 2012

Adare's Mike Clifford and Eoin Ryan of Kilmallock during the Limerick SHC Final at The Gaelic Grounds
Kilmallock 1-15
Adare 0-15

Kilmallock claimed their second Daly Cup in three years and their 10th in all following a hard-fought victory over Adare in the Limerick SHC final.

Nearly 5,000 spectators were present in the Gaelic Grounds to see Tony Considine's men prevail thanks to Jake Mulcahy's 46th minute goal. Adare led by 0-8 to 0-6 after playing with the aid of the breeze in the first half, but were overtaken in the second half by a Kilmallock team who never looked back following county star Graeme Mulcahy's switch to midfield at the start of the second half.

While 0-11 (0-7 from placed balls) of Adare's tally came from man of the match Declan Hannon, the winners had six different scorers. The sides were level four times in the opening half before Adare team grabbed the last three points to go into the break with their noses in front.

Ger 'Sparrow' O'Loughlin's men extended their advantage on the restart through scores from Hannon ('65) and Wayne McNamara, but Kilmallock came good in the final 20 minutes with Mulcahy's goal from an Eoin Ryan pass proving to be the game-changer.

Kilmallock - B Hennessey; M O'Loughlin, L Hurley, K O'Mahony; L Walsh, G O'Mahony, B O'Sullivan; R Egan (0-2), P O'Brien (0-3); J Mulcahy (1-1), P O'Dwyer (0-3), E Ryan (0-3); G Mulcahy, K O'Donnell (0-1), S O'Donnell (0-1). Subs: K Kennelly (0-1) for K O'Donnell.

Adare - S O'Donoghue; J Lohan, M Clifford, S Lavin; R Kennedy, W McNamara (0-1), D Dillon; J Hannon (0-1), C Fitzgerald; J Fitzgibbon (0-1), D Hannon (0-11), A O'Rahilly; D Sheehan (0-1), P Keane, W Griffin. Subs: D Sexton for O'Rahilly, A O'Connell for Griffin.

Referee - D O'Driscoll.

Most Read Stories