Kilkenny get 14 hurling All-Star nominations

September 29, 2011

GAA GPA All Stars sponsored by Opel
The GAA and the GPA in conjunction with sponsors Opel have named the 45 players who have been nominated for 2011 GAA GPA All-Star Hurling Awards.

All-Ireland champions Kilkenny dominate the list with 14 nominations. Only Eddie Brennan of the All-Ireland final starting team fails to make the list.

Beaten finalsts Tipperary and Allianz HL champions Dublin each have 10 nominations with Waterford 6, Limerick 3 and Galway 2 making up the remainder.

The final team of 15 players will be presented at the banquet event at Convention Centre Dublin on Friday October 21.

Nominees 2011 GAA GPA Hurling All-Stars sponsored by Opel

Goalkeepers: Gary Maguire (Dublin), David Herity (Kilkenny), Brendan Cummins (Tipperary).

Full Backs: Paul Murphy (Kilkenny), Niall Corcoran (Dublin), Paul Curran (Tipperary), Peter Kelly (Dublin), Jackie Tyrrell (Kilkenny), Michael Cahill (Tipperary), Tom Condon (Limerick), David Collins (Galway), Noel Hickey (Kilkenny).

Half backs: Tommy Walsh (Kilkenny), JJ Delaney (Kilkenny), Pádraic Maher (Tipperary), Brian Hogan (Kilkenny), Joey Boland (Dublin), Michael Walsh (Waterford), Conor O'Mahony (Tipperary), Shane Durkan (Dublin), Tony Browne (Waterford).

Midfielders: Donal O'Grady (Limerick), Michael Fennelly (Kilkenny), Kevin Moran (Waterford), Liam Rushe (Dublin), Gearóid Ryan (Tipperary), Johnny McCaffrey (Dublin).

Half Forwards: Henry Shefflin (Kilkenny), Richie Power (Kilkenny), Patrick Maher (Tipperary), Conal Keaney (Dublin), Ryan O'Dwyer (Dublin), Declan Hannon (Limerick), Michael Rice (Kilkenny), Noel McGrath (Tipperary), Pauric Mahony (Waterford).

Full forwards: Lar Corbett (Tipperary), Richie Hogan (Kilkenny), Colin Fennelly (Kilkenny), Paul Ryan (Dublin), Shane Walsh (Waterford), John Mullane (Waterford), Eoin Larkin (Kilkenny), Eoin Kelly (Tipperary), Joe Canning (Galway).

The Player of the Month award winners from May to September were also confirmed today: May: Conal Keaney; June: Pádraic Maher; July: Lar Corbett; August: Michael Fennelly; September: Tommy Walsh.

GAA President Christy Cooney congratulated all awards winners on the occasion of the first announcement of both All-Stars nominees and Players of the Month (hurling) under the new joint scheme between the GAA and the GPA.

He said: "Today marks an important milestone in relations between the GAA and our players and I wholeheartedly congratulate the 45 hurlers whose performances have been recognised by their inclusion on the short list and also the five Player of the Month winners who helped light up the summer not only in their own counties, but for hurling in general.

"I would like to thank the GPA and our sponsors Opel for helping us to reach this point and I look forward to their ongoing support and co-operation in the run up to the eagerly awaited announcements of the actual All-Star teams next month."

GPA CEO Dessie Farrell added: "This is a historic occasion for the GPA and GAA with the coming together of both award schemes and I'd like to acknowledge the work of Christy Cooney and Páraic Duffy in making that happen.

"Thanks to our sponsors Opel and in particular MD of Opel Ireland Dave Sheeran. Dave and Opel have been great supporters of players for many years and it's wonderful that they are now associated with the new GAA GPA All-Stars. I'd like to thank the All-Stars committee for their work in producing today's list of nominations and wish all the nominees the very best of luck. Also congratulations to the five monthly award winners who have been chosen by their peers for their respective contributions during the summer campaign. While an individual award is never a match for a provincial or All-Ireland medal, commanding the respect of your fellow players is nonetheless a very special achievement for any hurler."

Dave Sheeran MD Opel Ireland said: "Opel are proud to be associated with Gaelic Games and the All Stars Awards. I'd like to congratulate all those shortlisted for an All Star in 2011 and those voted as Player of the Month in what was an outstanding Championship season."

Most Read Stories