Lory Meagher Cup final: Donegal reign supreme

June 04, 2011
Donegal beat Tyrone by 2-12 to 0-17 in a thrilling Lory Meagher Cup final at Croke Park.

The O'Neill County looked to have done enough but last year's beaten finalists won in dramatic circumstances when Ciaran Mathewson struck a last-minute goal.

Mathewson also bagged 1-3 in the first half and finished the day with an impressive personal haul of 2-3. Tyrone flew out of the blocks with points from Rory O'Neill (2), Aidan Kelly, Garry Fox and Conor Grogan to lead by 0-7 to 0-2 after 20 minutes but the winners went on to lead by 1-7 to 0-8 at the break after Mathewson's 21st-minute goal.

Justin Kelly and Grogan claimed six more points between them as Tom Magill's men edged into pole position but Seán Mac Cumhaills clubman snatched victory from the jaws of defeat for Andrew Wallace's charges.

Donegal: P O'Brien; S O'Connor, C Breathnach, A McDermott; J Donnelly, C Dowds, J Boyle; S McVeigh (0-1), P Sheridan (0-1); E Organ, S Boyle, C Mathewson (2-3); M McCann (0-1), E McDermott, N Campbell (0-6). Subs: P Hannigan for Organ (47); L Henderson for McCann (63); M McGhee for Boyle (68).

Tyrone: J Devlin; Ryan O'Neill; D Maguire, R Winters; SP Begley, S Donnelly, M Grogan; C Gallagher, M O'Gorman; G Fox (0-1), J Kelly (0-5), A Kelly (0-3); C McErlean, Rory O'Neill (0-2), C Grogan (0-3). Subs: P O'Connor (0-3) for McErlean (ht); T Hughes for O'Gorman (60); M Winters for A Kelly (60).

Most Read Stories