Cloonan to run against Fahey

November 28, 2009
Former Galway hurling manager Jarlath Cloonan is expected to run against incumbent John Fahey after being nominated for the position of Galway hurling secretary. Fahey is a highly-respected figure both inside and outside the county, and was one of the few Galway hurling board officers who favoured the Tribesmen's historic move into the Leinster hurling championship this year. As well as being a former Galway manager and selector, Cloonan played a key role in Athenry's three All-Ireland club title successes and has held all the main officerships within the club. The position will be filled at the Galway hurling board convention on December 10. As expected, former player and referee Jimmy Cooney is one of three nominated for the chairman's position. The 1980 All-Ireland winner, who quit refereeing after he mistakenly calling a premature halt to the 1998 All-Ireland hurling semi-final between Clare and Offaly, has been nominated along with acting chairman Stevie Cahalan - who took over last month following the controversial resignation of the long-serving Miko Ryan - and Joe Byrne from Kinvara. All six positions on the board are being contested this year. Galway Hurling Board nominations - Chairman: Stevie Cahalan, Jimmy Cooney and Joe Byrne. Vice-chairman: Stevie Cahalan, Joe Connolly (Ballinderreen), Pat Moore and Noel Turley. Secretary: John Fahey and Jarlath Cloonan. Assistant secretary: Mike Flanagan, Michael Bodkin, John Hynes and Pat Kearney. Treasurer: John McGann and Gerry Naughton. Assistant treasurer: Malachy Hanley and Michael Bodkin.

Most Read Stories