Castlepollard Club Notes

January 08, 2020

Notes as of 5th Jan 2020

New Year

Castlepollard Hurling Club wishes all its members, loyal supporters & kind Sponsors a very happy and prosperous New Year. 

Presentation Night

The Clan na Gael 2019 U/14 Div1 Shield winners and U/18Div2 Winning Teams Presentation Night took place on Sat 4th January in Hotel Castlepollard.  Clan na Gael Secretary Michael Mulvaney extended a warm welcome to the large numbers of parents and players who were there on the night.  He introduced Castlepollard Chairman Mick Macken and Brownstowns Chairman Seamus Reilly whom both thanked all the coaches who gave of their time during the year, and to the parents who also played their part in what was a great year for both Clubs. Finally he thanked the players for the way they represented their clubs during the year and he also welcomed  the Guests of Honour, Westmeath County Minor Board Chairman Billy Foley who addressed all present and encouraged our young hurlers to seek further sucesses in 2020 followed by current Castlepollard County players D.O’Reilly, J.McCarthy, Tommy Gallagher and C.Shaw (Brownstown).  The various presentation took place  with our County players presenting each player with their medals and posing for pictures with all the players .   Our thanks to Russell and Staff of Hotel Castlepollard for providing the venue and the food ensuring a memorable night was had by all

Clan na Gael 2019 U/14 Div1 Shield Winners

Back(LtoR): S.Sheridan(Mentor), D.O’Reilly, J.McCarthy, C.Sheridan, B.Murphy, J.Ward, S.Og Murray, C.English, C.Briody, S.Mulvany, T.Purcell,D.Reilly, R.Carolan, C.Shaw, T.Gallagher, M.Gavigan(Mentor). Front(LtoR):B.Gilchrist, R.Briody, S.Reilly, S.Gavigan, M.O’Neill, L.Kiernan,M.Lancaster, S.Henry, A.O’Brien, E.Kennedy, I.Mulvey, B.O’Brien(Mentor),B.Murphy(Mentor).


Clan na Gael 2019 U/18 Div2 Winners

Back(LtoR): C. Shaw, K.Gavigan(Mentor), L.Kelleghan, T.McCabe, C.McCormack, D.Henry, J.Reilly, C.Reilly(Mentor), S.Dermody, O.Kiernan, M.Henry(Mentor), D.Devine, B.Gibbons, D.McCormack, J.English(Mentor), E.English, D.McCormack(Mentor), T.Gallagher, D.O’Reilly, B.McCabe(Mentor).  Front(LtoR): A.O’Leary, O.Gaffney, D.O’Leary, A. McCormack, L.Gilchrist, M.O’Reilly, A.Mulvany, C.Gaffney, B.Gavigan, D.Reilly.


Our weekly Bingo continues next Sunday night at 8.30pm in the Hurling Complex.  The Main Jackpot stands at  €15,000 and our 2nd Jackpot now also stands at €15,000.  

           €100 BonusBall winner #1 : Maureen Cruise. 

           €100 BonusBall winner #2 : Carmel Ayres.


Lotto Draw

Our next Lotto draw will take place at the Bingo on Sunday 12th  Jan 2020.  New Jackpot will be €5,100.

The Hurling Club would like to thank all of our Sponsors, patrons and ticket sellers for their continued support.

Castlepollard Hurling Club Yearly Lotto tickets :-  It’s that time of year again and we are currently renewing our popular yearly lotto ticket. At just €50 (for 26 draws) it’s excellent value.  The Club lotto has been a major source of income to our club. Your support is vital to the upkeep of the club and your contribution to our local lotto is always greatly appreciated.   If you would like to renew your yearly ticket or you would like to purchase a yearly ticket – please contact any member of the executive.    Thank you for your continued support of Castlepollard GAA.

Club Gear

Castlepollard GAA Club gear is now available on the O’Neills website. There are various different items of gear including socks , shorts, t-shirt’s, jackets, tracksuit bottoms and hoodies and all include the club crest.

Club Website

Please feel free to visit us at or find us on facebook.

If anyone would like to have any news items or events added to the site or included in the weekly notes please email [email protected]


Most Read Stories