Waterford SFC: 'Courty dethrone The Nire

October 07, 2019

Waterford's Conor Murray. ©INPHO/Laszlo Geczo.

Ballinacourty will face Rathgormack in the Waterford SFC final following their respective semi-final victories over The Nire and Stradbally yesterday.

'Courty dethroned The Nire thanks to a 0-16 to 1-9 victory, while Rathgormack beat Stradbally by 0-14 to 0-8 to reach their first final in 19 years.

The Nire got off to a great start when Dylan Guiry netted inside four minutes, but Ballinacourty replied with six unanswered points, including five frees from David Looby. Scores from Shane O'Meara, county hurler Jamie Barron and Ciaran Walsh brought the champions level in the second half, but late points from Neil Montgomery, Mark Ferncombe, Michael Maher and John Elstead sealed 'Courty's final place.

In the other semi-final, county player Conor Murray scored 0-4 from play as Rathgormack trumped Stradbally to make the final for the first time since 2001.

Most Read Stories