Dublin lead the way as 13 counties included in All-Star football nominations

September 29, 2023

Dublin captain James McCarthy lifts the Sam Maguire Cup ©INPHO/James Crombie

All-Ireland football champions Dublin have been rewarded with 10 places in this year’s PwC All-Star football nominations. The high-profile list of 45 names is notable for being spread across 13 counties – the largest representative breakdown since 2008.

Also announced today are the contenders for PwC GAA/GPA Footballer of the Year – an accolade voted for by the inter-county playing population. Last year’s winner, David Clifford is again shortlisted, and the Kerry star forward is joined by Dublin midfielder and a two-time Player of the Year Brian Fenton, as well as Slaughtneil dual star Brendan Rogers from Derry.

The candidates for PwC GAA/GPA Young Footballer of the Year are Derry duo Ethan Doherty and Eoin McEvoy and Roscommon’s Conor Carroll – young players who caught the eye with their performances last summer.

Dublin’s haul reflects their success in capturing Allianz League Division 2, followed by the Delaney and Sam Maguire trophies. The history making trio of a record nine All-Ireland winning medals, Stephen Cluxton, Michael Fitzsimons and James McCarthy are all included here. 

The very first year of the GAA All-Stars in 1971 saw 115 players from across 24 counties nominated in football for an award. Over time the selection process has been refined to the current format of 45 names shortlisted. In this era, the 2023 total of 13 counties being represented stands as a high mark, and not seen since 12 counties were represented on the 2012 list of nominations. The last time there were this many counties included was in 2008 when there were also 13.

More history will be made if brothers David and Paudie Clifford continue their All-Star streak, while Tyrone’s Darragh Canavan is nominated like his father Peter before him, who was a six-time All-Star between 1994 and 2005.  Westmeath star forward Rónán O’Toole is nominated and was honoured last year on the inaugural Tailteann Cup Team of the Year.

PwC Football All-Star Nominations

Goalkeepers (3)

Rory Beggan (Monaghan)

Stephen Cluxton (Dublin)

Shane Ryan (Kerry)

Defenders (18)

Jason Foley (Kerry)

Tadhg Morley (Kerry)

Tom O’Sullivan (Kerry)

Gavin White (Kerry)

Michael Fitzsimons (Dublin)

Lee Gannon (Dublin)

Brian Howard (Dublin)

Gareth McKinless (Derry)

Conor McCluskey (Derry)

Eoin McEvoy (Derry)

Conor McCarthy (Monaghan)

Karl O’Connell (Monaghan)

Seán Kelly (Galway)

Aidan Forker (Armagh)

Brian Stack (Roscommon)

Padraig Hampsey (Tyrone)

Rory Maguire (Cork)

Brendan McCole (Donegal)

Midfielders (6)

Brian Fenton (Dublin)

James McCarthy (Dublin)

Conor Glass (Derry)

Brendan Rogers (Derry)

Diarmuid O’Connor (Kerry)

Diarmuid O’Connor (Mayo)

Forwards (18)

Colm Basquel (Dublin)

Cormac Costello (Dublin)

Paul Mannion (Dublin)

Con O’Callaghan (Dublin)

David Clifford (Kerry)

Paudie Clifford (Kerry)

Seán O’Shea (Kerry)

Paul Cassidy (Derry)

Shane McGuigan (Derry)

Oisín Gallen (Donegal)

Conor McManus (Monaghan)

Enda Smith (Roscommon)

Darragh Canavan (Tyrone)

Rónán O’Toole (Westmeath)

Andrew Murnin (Armagh)

Jordan Flynn ((Mayo)

Ben McCormack (Kildare)

Damien Comer (Galway)

PwC GAA/GPA Footballer of the Year Nominees

David Clifford (Kerry), Brian Fenton (Dublin), Brendan Rogers (Derry)

PwC GAA/GPA Young Footballer of the Year Nominees

Ethan Doherty (Derry), Eoin McEvoy (Derry), Conor Carroll (Roscommon)

Most Read Stories