GAA task force appointed to purpose All-Ireland SFC reform

December 02, 2021

The new task force includes representatives of all four provincial councils and the GPA

The GAA has put together a new task force which is set to bring forward recommendations for reforming the All-Ireland senior football championship.

It follows the rejection of ‘Proposal B’ at October’s Special Congress, where the motion for a league-based championship was defeated despite support from 80 per cent of the players, GAA president Larry McCarthy and director-general Tom Ryan.

The new task force will be asked to produce recommendations for potential change to Central Council at February’s Annual Congress.

If passed, those changes would come into effect in time for the 2023 season.

The Task Force members will include: Uachtarán CLG Larry McCarthy, Ciarán Mac Lochlann (Tyrone), Ger Ryan (Tipperary), Derek Kent (Wexford), Vincent Neary (Mayo), John Halbert (Cork), Ronan Sheehan (Down/ GPA), John Joe Carroll (Kerry), Tomás O Riain (Director-General/chair) and Feargal McGill (Secretary).

Most Read Stories