Mayo take on Galway and Kerry face Cork as 2022 football championship draws confirmed

November 27, 2021

Mayo's Ryan O'Donoghue and Finnian O'Laoi of Galway ©INPHO/Lorraine O'Sullivan

The draws for the 2022 provincial senior football championships have been made this afternoon.

In Connacht, the stand out tie sees heavyweights Mayo and Galway clashing on Easter Sunday, while Roscommon will face the winners of New York and Sligo at the western province’s semi-final stage.

Dublin will begin their bid for a 12th consecutive Leinster SFC title against either Offaly or Wexford in the quarter-finals, while this year’s beaten finalists Kildare meet the winners or Louth and Carlow and Andy McEntee’s Meath face either Laois or Wicklow for a semi-final berth.

Giants down south Kerry and Cork clash for a place in the Munster SFC final with the winners of Tipperary and Waterford playing either Clare or Limerick in the other semi-final.

All-Ireland champions Tyrone meet Fermanagh in the preliminary round of the Ulster championship next year with the winners playing Derry in the quarter-finals. Donegal face Armagh in what should be a tasty last eight clash, with 2020 champions Cavan facing Antrim and Monaghan taking on James McCartan’s Down.

Here are the draws in full: 

2022 Connacht SFC quarter-final draw

Mayo v Galway

New York v Sligo (at Gaelic Park)

London v Leitrim (at Ruislip)

Semi-finals: Roscommon v New York/Sligo; London/Leitrim v Mayo/Galway

2022 Leinster SFC first round draw

Louth v Carlow

Laois v Wicklow

Offaly v Wexford

Quarter-finals: Dublin v Offaly/Wexford; Meath v Laois/Wicklow; Kildare v Louth/Carlow; Westmeath v Longford

2022 Munster SFC quarter-final draw

Tipperary v Waterford

Clare v Limerick

Semi-finals: Kerry v Cork; Tipperary/Waterford v Clare/Limerick

2022 Ulster SFC draw 

Preliminary round:

Fermanagh v Tyrone


A. Donegal v Armagh
B. Antrim v Cavan
C. Monaghan v Down
D. Derry v Fermanagh/Tyrone

Semi-finals: A v B; C v D 

Most Read Stories