Murphy is Ulster's finest

September 13, 2019

Donegal's Michael Murphy encourages his teammates during the Ulster SFC final clash against Cavan at St Tiernach's Park, Clones. ©INPHO/Tommy Dickson.

Michael Murphy was named as Footballer of the Year at last night's Irish News Ulster All-Star Awards in the Armagh City Hotel.

The Donegal captain also won a record-equalling seventh Irish News All-Star, being named at midfield on a side dominated by players from the Tir Chonaill County and Tyrone. Armagh were the only other county represented on the selection.

The Irish News Ulster All-Stars 2019 are as follows: Shaun Patton (Donegal); Stephen McMenamin (Donegal), Ronan McNamee (Tyrone), Paddy McGrath (Donegal); Ryan McHugh (Donegal), Eoghan 'Ban' Gallagher (Donegal), Frank Burns (Tyrone); Michael Murphy (Donegal), Jarlath Og Burns (Armagh); Jamie Brennan (Donegal), Mattie Donnelly (Tyrone), Peter Harte (Tyrone); Paddy McBrearty (Donegal), Cathal McShane (Tyrone), Rian O'Neill (Armagh).



Most Read Stories