Brilliant Banner down Galway for first All-Ireland minor hurling crown in 26 years

June 04, 2023

Clare minor captain Eoghan Gunning lifts the Irish Press Cup ©INPHO/Ken Sutton

Clare delivered a five-star performance in Thurles this afternoon to defeat Galway by 2-22 to 4-11 and capture the All-Ireland minor hurling championship title.

Brian O’Connell’s side shipped two first-half goals but still led at half-time (0-12 to 2-5) thanks to the points of Marc O’Brien, Sean Arthur and Ogie Fanning.

Cullen Killeen had netted both goals for the Tribesmen in the opening period at Semple Stadium, but after the turnaround it was Clare’s two goals in a devastating seven-minute spell that had them with one hand on the Irish Press Cup.

O’Brien’s darting run set-up Fanning for their first and the second would come from a James Hegarty ‘65’ which dropped over the line and the latter would point a free soon after to make it 2-13 to 2-7.

A Harry Holmes goal did reduce Galway’s arrears to four but the Banner lads got points down the home stretch via Harry Doherty and Eoin Cleary to seal their county’s first All-Ireland MHC title - and second overall - since 1997.

Most Read Stories