Carlow SHC final: 14-man St Mullin's deny MLR three-in-a-row

October 20, 2019

The St Mullins panel. ©INPHO/Tommy Dickson.

St Mullin's 2-17

Mount Leinster Rangers 1-19

Jason O'Neill was the St Mullin's hero at Netwatch Cullen Park this afternoon as his 64th minute point saw them clinch a dramatic victory over reigning champions Mount Leinster Rangers.

Despite playing with 14-men for more than 45 minutes due to the sending off of Ger Coady and without the suspended Jack Kavanagh, Martin Kavanagh inspired 14-man St Mullin's with his haul of 0-10 (five frees). 

First-half goals from Patrick Boland and Seamus Murphy also proved crucial for the winners who built up a 2-12 to 1-9 interval cushion.

Three-in-a-row chasing Rangers were struggling to gain any foothold into the game but Denis Murphy's goal six minutes from the break kept them in contention.

However, they came roaring back upon the resumption and registered nine of the next twelve scores to draw the game with five minutes of normal time remaining, 2-15 to 1-18.

A long-range James Doyle effort restored St Mullin's lead and then Denis Murphy's thirteenth pointed free levelled matters once again before O'Neill popped up at the other end with the match winner in the dying seconds of injury-time.

St Mullin's - K Kehoe; C Kavanagh, P Doyle, G Bennett; J Doran, M Walsh, G Coady; J Doyle (0-3), O Boland; P Walsh, S Murphy (1-1), M Kavanagh (0-10, 5f); J O’Neill (0-2), P Boland (1-1), P Connors. Subs: P Fortune for P Walsh, O Ryan for O Boland.

Mount Leinster Rangers - D Grennan; W Hickey, D Tobin, M Doyle; K McDonald, R Coady, R Kelly; D Byrne (0-1), J Murphy; J Nolan (0-2), T Joyce (0-1), D Phelan; D Murphy (1-13, 0-13f), C Nolan (0-2), E Byrne. Subs: P Coady for D Phelan, D Byrne for R Kelly, M Malone for D Tobin.

Referee - P O’Dwyer.

Most Read Stories