Sligo SHC final: historic first for Naomh Eoin

October 13, 2019

Naomh Eoin and Sligo star Gerard O'Kelly Lynch. ©INPHO/Tommy Grealy.

Naomh Eoin 1-12 

Easkey 0-12

Tony O'Kelly-Lynch was the star of the show as Naomh Eoin claimed a first-ever Sligo SHC title at Easkey's expense in Markievicz Park.

The midfielder scored 0-8 as the Sligo town side atoned for eight previous final defeats, including last year's. Easkey, who were reformed as a senior club last year, were seeking their first title since 1963, but trailed by 0-6 to 0-7 at the interval with O'Kelly-Lynch accounting for 0-5 of the winners' first half account.

Easkey nudged ahead for the first time in the second half through points from Rory McHugh, Andrew Kilcullen and Joe McHugh. After O'Kelly-Lynch and Paul Kilcoyne had restored Naomh Eoin's lead, McHugh's seventh point brought the West Sligo outfit level once again.

But an Arthur Wall goal with three minutes remaining sealed victory for Naomh Eoin.

Naomh Eoin - K Brennan; D Hickey, N Feehily, R Feehily; M Munnelly, C Jordan, L Henry; T O’Kelly Lynch (0-8, 6f), G O’Kelly Lynch (0-1pen); T O’Callaghan (0-1), P Kilcoyne (0-2), D Fidgeon; F O’Kelly Lynch, A Wall (1-0), G Wall. Subs: S Henry for G Wall, C Doran for F O’Kelly Lynch, D Cawley for R Feehily, G Wall for T O’Callaghan.

Easkey - J Gordon; B Feeney, G Connolly, J Weir; Cormac Hallinan, R McHugh (0-2), D Hanley; N Kilcullen, F Cawley; K McGee, M Gordon, I Barrett; A Kilcullen (0-2), J McHugh (0-8, 5f, 1'65), H Gilroy. Subs: S Mulligan for I Barrett, Cahan Hallinan for K McGee, T Rolston for H Gilroy, E Kilgannon for A Kilcullen, D Rolston for D Hanley.

Referee - J Judge.

Most Read Stories