Tailteann, McDonagh, Ring, Rackard and Meagher Cup Players of the Year announced

October 28, 2023

Meath's Mathew Costello

The GAA has announced the overall players of the year in the Tailteann Cup football  championship and in the Joe McDonagh, Christy Ring, Nickey Rackard and Lory Meagher Cup  hurling competitions. 

Meath full-forward Mathew Costello scoops up the Tailteann Cup Footballer of the Year  award. Costello was a constant attacking threat throughout the competition, putting in  consistently excellent performances, including a man of the match display in the semi-final  and three vital scores in the final. 

Carlow sharpshooter Martin Kavanagh, widely recognised as one of the most prolific  forwards in the game, claims this year’s Joe McDonagh Cup hurler of the year award. The St.  Mullins man had an exceptional campaign in which he finished as top scorer, including a 1-8  man of the match display in the thrilling final victory over Offaly. 

The Christy Ring Cup hurler of the year is Meath’s Jack Regan. Selected at centre-forward on  the Champion 15, the royals’ talisman produced time and time again with vital scores  throughout the campaign, culminating in an inspiring 14-point haul in the final. 

Wicklow veteran Andy O’Brien picks up the Nickey Rackard Cup hurler of the year prize, with  the lethal St. Patrick’s man playing a major role in his county’s first ever Nickey Rackard Cup  title, in what was his last inter-county campaign, after announcing his retirement this year. 

Niall Garland is the Lory Meagher Cup hurler of the year after the Monaghan joint captain’s  scoring prowess proved vital in helping the Farney men to an historic success. 

The winners were announced at the end of a gala black-tie function in Croke Park’s Hogan  Suite.

Most Read Stories