Meath dominate with eight in Tailteann Cup Team of the Year

October 26, 2023

Meath captain Donal Keogan lifts the Tailteann Cup at Croke Park

The Royals rule the roost in this years Tailteann Cup Team of the Year, with the reigning  champions claiming a spectacular eight spots in this prestigious selection, which includes  four from finalists Down, and one each from Antrim, Carlow, and Cavan. 

Meath captain and veteran Donal Keogan is selected in the half back line alongside the  commanding Padraic Harnan, with their fellow county men Seán Brennan and Adam O’Neill  taking up the number one and number two jerseys respectively. It’s a midfield slot for U20  star Conor Gray, with Jack Flynn, Jordan Morris and the dangerous Mathew Costello  rounding off the Meath places on this mouthwatering team. 

The Mourne men are led by their captain Pierce Laverty, who takes the full back spot, and he  is joined in defence by Danny Magill, son of Down All-Ireland winner Miceal Magill. Down’s  remaining inclusions come in the shape of the speedy Odhran Murdock in midfield and the  goalscoring Liam Kerr at wing forward. 

Cavan defender Padraig Faulkner becomes the first man in history to have been named on a  Tailteann Cup Team of the Year, as well as a PwC All-Star Football Team of the Year, with his  selection in the full-back line. 

Antrim’s Ruairí McCann, and Carlow’s Ross Dunphy, take up the remaining two places on the  Tailteann Cup team of the Year for 2023, rewarding them for their exceptional performances  throughout the competition. 

Players from the Tailteann Cup were asked to nominate outstanding performers in the  competition, with an independent selection committee adjudicating on the final team based  on player performances, supported by video footage and county nominations. 

The awards will be presented at a gala black-tie function in Croke Park this Friday night. The  show will be streamed live on from 7pm and will also feature the awards for the Ring,  Rackard and Meagher Champion 15 Team of the Year and the Joe McDonagh Team of the  Year - as well as the presentation of the overall Players of the Year in these championships. 

Tailteann Cup Team of the Year 2023 

1 Seán Brennan (Meath) 

2 Adam O’Neill (Meath) 

3 Pierce Laverty (Down) 

4 Padraig Faulkner (Cavan) 

5 Donal Keogan (Meath) 

6 Padraic Harnan (Meath) 

7 Danny Magill (Down) 

8 Odhran Murdock (Down) 

9 Conor Gray (Meath) 

10 Jack Flynn (Meath) 

11 Ross Dunphy (Carlow) 

12 Liam Kerr (Down) 

13 Jordan Morris (Meath)

14 Mathew Costello (Meath) 

15 Ruairí McCann – (Antrim) St Mary’s 

Most Read Stories