O'Dwyer becomes second Irish player to win AFLW title as Lions dethrone holders

April 17, 2021

Orla O'Dwyer celebrates with the AFLW Premiership trophy.

Tipperary's Orla O'Dwyer helped Brisbane Lions to AFLW glory, becoming the second Irish player to win the title.

The Lions defeated Adelaide Crows 38-20 in front of a crowd of 22,934 at the Adelaide Oval today, claiming their first ever crown.

Jess Wuetschner and Courtney Hodder kicked two goals each as the Lions built up a five-point half-time lead they wouldn't relinquish afterwards.


O'Dwyer played a crucial role in her team's Grand final success, tallying six tackles and 16 disposals as they overcame the loss of captain Emma Zielke to injury in the third quarter to dethrone the holders.

The 22-year-old joins Crows star Ailish Considine in the group of Irish players that have won the premiership.

Former Clare dual star Considine had 11 disposals for the Crows who were aiming for a three-in-a-row after victories in 2017 and 2019.

Most Read Stories