RTÉ to televise 2020 All Star awards

February 14, 2021

Limerick players and management celebrate with the Liam MacCarthy Cup. ©INPHO/Tommy Dickson.

RTÉ will televise a remote presentation of the 2020 All Star awards next Saturday night, 20th February, in line with Covid-19 restrictions.

The All-Star hurling team and the Footballer and Hurler of the Year winners will be revealed in a 90 minute show, with the football All-Stars being announced to the media on Friday morning.

John Kiely's Limerick are expected to dominate the hurling team after winning a second Liam MacCarthy Cup in three years, likewise, six-in-a-row champions Dublin in the football.

Limerick's Gearoid Hegarty is being hotly tipped to win Hurler of the Year, with Clare’s Tony Kelly and Stephen Bennett of Waterford also nominated.

Eoin Cody (Kilkenny), Iarlaith Daly (Waterford) and Jake Morris (Tipperary) will contest the Young Hurler of the Year award.

Dublin duo Brian Fenton and Ciaran Kilkenny are joined by Mayo marksman Cillian O’Connor in the shortlist for the Footballer of the Year award.

Mayo trio Tommy Conroy, Eoghan MacLaughlin and Oisin Mullin will battle it for Young Footballer of the Year.

2020 All-Star Awards on Saturday (RTÉ One, 6.35pm)

Most Read Stories