Nine Dubs on Canavan's Football Team of the Year

December 21, 2020

Dublin's Con O'Callaghan is blocked by Diarmuid O'Connor of Mayo. ©INPHO/James Crombie.

Tyrone great Peter Canavan has selected his Football ‘Team of the Year’ for 2020.

Following their sixth successive All-Ireland SFC final victory on Saturday, Dublin have nine selections on the team while this year’s runners up Mayo have three.

Cousins Raymond and Thomas Galligan of Cavan are selected at goalkeeper and centre-field respectively, while Tipperary captain Conor Sweeney is the sole representative of the Munster champions at full-forward.

The two-time All-Ireland winner also named Dublin midfielder Brian Fenton as his Footballer of the Year.

Writing for Sky Sports GAA, Canavan revealed the following as his Football Team of the Year for 2020:

1. Raymond Galligan (Cavan)

2. Oisin Mullin (Mayo)
3. David Byrne (Dublin)
4. Mick Fitzsimons (Dublin)

5. Paddy Durcan (Mayo)
6. John Small (Dublin)
7. Robbie McDaid (Dublin)

8. Thomas Galligan (Cavan)
9. Brian Fenton (Dublin)

10. Niall Scully (Dublin)
11. Ciarán Kilkenny (Dublin)
12. Con O’Callaghan (Dublin)

13. Cillian O’Connor (Mayo)
14. Conor Sweeney (Tipperary)
15. Dean Rock (Dublin)

Most Read Stories