Meath V Wexford

Replying To stillaroyal:  "James McEntee's perfoormance demonstrates the value of the experienced player in a key pivotal position like CHF.

Hopefully COR can see this and make an approach to Conor McGill with a view to him returning to the panel for next year. We need to push on next year.

One plus in my mind regarding the Wexford game was the strength of the bench, it looks to be getting stronger and the arrival of the under 20's has helped that."
Bench is getting stronger and hopefully a few more put their hands up during championship. I am sure Conor Mc knows the door is open, James Mac is prime example and ball is in his court now. We still have a few out injured, so competition for places will ramp up, which is good for Meath football.

seadog54 (Meath) - Posts: 2149 - 21/06/2023 12:04:18    2488099

Replying To stillaroyal:  "James McEntee's perfoormance demonstrates the value of the experienced player in a key pivotal position like CHF.

Hopefully COR can see this and make an approach to Conor McGill with a view to him returning to the panel for next year. We need to push on next year.

One plus in my mind regarding the Wexford game was the strength of the bench, it looks to be getting stronger and the arrival of the under 20's has helped that."
On the subject of the full back position, what happened to Michael Flood who played a lot of the league matches ?Is he still on the panel ?

kingofclubs (Meath) - Posts: 321 - 22/06/2023 10:14:10    2488341

Replying To kingofclubs:  "On the subject of the full back position, what happened to Michael Flood who played a lot of the league matches ?Is he still on the panel ?"
Still there but was getting cleaned out in most match's so think a revised roll needed.

Irish_downunder (Meath) - Posts: 631 - 22/06/2023 10:32:22    2488344

Replying To seadog54:  "Doctor, listened to COR talk about him on Chronicle podcast and effort he put in to get back on panel, plus the fact he worked nights the week of Wexford game, fantastic commitment."
Think Colm alluded to him also feeling a bit sick also, so Between a week of Nights, including Friday night, and feeling sick, to get MOTM from 46 mins of play is some going....

Also enjoyed Colm's quip about Ronan Jones injuring himself by constantly running into people & having to mind Donal Keoghan due to his old age....

Jinxie (Meath) - Posts: 6343 - 22/06/2023 10:33:16    2488345

Replying To Jinxie:  "Think Colm alluded to him also feeling a bit sick also, so Between a week of Nights, including Friday night, and feeling sick, to get MOTM from 46 mins of play is some going....

Also enjoyed Colm's quip about Ronan Jones injuring himself by constantly running into people & having to mind Donal Keoghan due to his old age...."
Yes....refreshing tone where the emphasis is on enjoyment . In the last 2 matches the fear factor seems to be evaporating . This can only be a good sign. I note the use of "risk free" football cleverly makes the point here.
There will be mistakes ,but with this tone and attitude the retification is made more effective. Still early days of course .That article sends out positive vibes and breeds encouragement. I like where the script from the past is torn up. This FRESHNESS i believe is just what is needed as a top priority

nobull456 (Meath) - Posts: 1227 - 22/06/2023 11:34:06    2488364

Replying To royaldunne:  "Can't believe how bad Wexford were. Worse than tipp or Waterford by some distance. Still can only beat what's in front of you. And we did it well. Morris lynch and in particular motm James mcentee some class effort and delighted that he was approached to come back after been dropped, anyone can make a mistake to see that error and rectify it is the mark of a man so fair play to Colm for realising that and approaching James. And also fair play to James for returning shows huge commitment to Meath and what's best for county on all sides. Hopefully we have turned a corner but to be honest until we face Down again it's hard to know. But I'm the eternal optimist.
Hon the royal"
As the final showed you have an excellent team Royaldunne! As regards our lads I think playing week on week caught up with them. They put a massive effort in to beat Offaly on a very warm day only a few days before the game in Navan. Some of the better players were not long back from injury and 2 hard games in a week was too much for them. Hopefully this year will encourage some of the better club lads who wouldn't commit last year, and there were plenty, to give our footballers ago next year.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 12006 - 21/07/2023 12:34:53    2495974