Tailteann Cup

Well done to meath. My first match in croker was meath dublin in 86 or 87, always had a soft spot for meath after that.
O'rourke has answered a lot of the pundits today with a defiant win. He has a brilliant management team, and a young exciting football team that I think in the coming years will trouble anyone

So much of what they did today was based in a hunger to win, they worked hard wherewver they had to work. And attacked at pace. You can see the coaches mark on that, with o'rourkes stamp of footpassing. Two styles combining

Barrowsider (Carlow) - Posts: 1595 - 15/07/2023 22:09:47    2494658

Deserved win. Fair play to the lads for regrouping after Offaly. In terms of the future great to see us having a few good strong players. For years we have lacked power, now with Flynn/ Grey/ Costello who add strength.

bdbuddah (Meath) - Posts: 1356 - 15/07/2023 22:28:17    2494663

Patience is the secret to most successful teams and today is only the first step in the right direction but it's a good start
What a brilliant display from a young and upcoming meath team we have some serious young talent and plenty more to come in.
Well done to Colm and his team of coaches and selectors some of the tripe posted here after just 7 matches in charge was ridiculous .
Also some of the bingo gossip by the same people regarding unhappy players in the camp has been proven to be rubbish and tall.of better players sitting in the stands , they are in the stands for a reason .
The joy on the faces of everyone involved in today's win proves how serious they all took this competition and how much it meant to this team to win it even though some on here had the cheek to belittle it every chance they got .
If playing and winning competition was not way more beneficial than playing in the other competition and loosing 3 games I give in and I said that from the start .
I look forward to next year it's going to be a tough div 2 but COR has us going in the right direction and clearly the backing of all the players we are still a long way of the top table but I see light at the end of the tunnel something I hadn't for the last number of years .
Great to see young kids who had never seen Meath win anything flying the Meath flags in Croke Park .

mmc (Meath) - Posts: 267 - 15/07/2023 22:55:24    2494670

Delighted for team and management. great to see young lads having a bit of success with all the commitment they give.
Hopefully we can start supporting our new setup and stop saying " I was talking to someone at the match and they said...." !!!!

Harnan6 (Meath) - Posts: 32 - 16/07/2023 00:06:36    2494682

Left a quick message yesterday, couldnt make the game sadly as Im out of Ireland but anyhow I mamaged to watch it on TV.

Happy to say I was there in Fraher Field, Parnell Park and Navan earlier in the Tailteann Cup to follow this team. Ill be honest, two or three months ago after being put out in the LSC by Offaly and the league, I wouldnt have foreseen that this Meath team could bounce back and win this competition. Very few could have. I also admit to being critical of the management and I thought COR was out of his depth. Amazing what a few months can do...

I know many wont see this trophy as a big achievement and I can relate to that viewpoint, but I think its massive for Meath football. Its a form of continuity for these young players from a series of very strong minors from 2017 or so onward. On a personal note I cant remember the last time Meath won 6 championship games in a row. I was born in the early 90s so I have memory of 99 and the early 00s, but Ive never seen the mens senior team lift a trophy (I dont count 2010), so for me this was emotional and Im still buzzing. And Im 30. So this is huge for lads on the field who are millenium babies, and there are plenty of them. It was fantastic to see the team so visibly happy at the end and COR and Sean Boylan, its another chapter to their story. Come what may in the coming seasons, this has been a remarkable comeback season for Meath and I think we should celebrate the tenacity and strength of this team. The country laughed at them a few months ago. Absolutely bloody marvellous.

Young_gael (Meath) - Posts: 589 - 16/07/2023 07:16:37    2494691

Fantastic to see the clear improvement in the team throughout the tailteann Cup. Our shooting and taking chances still needs improvement but looking back to how Waterford put us under so much pressure to not giving derry a sniff a few weeks later shows that the lads are beginning to gel as a team and beginning to show the potential we all know they have...

CMAN1570 (Meath) - Posts: 53 - 16/07/2023 09:19:51    2494698

Congrats An Mhí.

As I posted early on, the TC is the perfect stepping stone for Meath to drive on again next season.

Promotion is a must next year imo, and depending on the draw - a Leinster Final at least also.

Delighted for the likes of Keoghan and Cillian O'S. Great servants and deserving of a Senior medal and trophy playing for Meath.

Lovely touch stopping off for a photo with Jack Quinn on the way home also, and the photo of COR and Sean B on the pitch is priceless.

On a side note - the S&C seem to be doing some job with these players - far stronger and bigger than the Down players, or so it seemed watching the match in Croker.

To those who wanted COR out - nonsense - as I said - give him time....!

Anyway, Well done and fully deserved.

Fionn (Dublin) - Posts: 3733 - 17/07/2023 09:53:30    2494990

Replying To Fionn:  "Congrats An Mhí.

As I posted early on, the TC is the perfect stepping stone for Meath to drive on again next season.

Promotion is a must next year imo, and depending on the draw - a Leinster Final at least also.

Delighted for the likes of Keoghan and Cillian O'S. Great servants and deserving of a Senior medal and trophy playing for Meath.

Lovely touch stopping off for a photo with Jack Quinn on the way home also, and the photo of COR and Sean B on the pitch is priceless.

On a side note - the S&C seem to be doing some job with these players - far stronger and bigger than the Down players, or so it seemed watching the match in Croker.

To those who wanted COR out - nonsense - as I said - give him time....!

Anyway, Well done and fully deserved."
ok....have held back to try & get the right words, and not to provoke an avalanche of blowback or negativity to what i am going to say.
Without doubt, delighted that we won, on saturday, for no other reason that to lose i think would have been catastrophic on a number of levels , I am going to assume that COR knew this & hence Im going to give him a pass for for his over excited reaction afterwards to winning the TC. This wasn't about the TC, this was about recovering Ground and getting back to some degree of Self respect as a County . Its a starting point....17th best Team in Ireland ...and thats where we reside, and i give COR and his Management & the TEam serious credit to halting the slide, cause this could have gone "all th way" ...Now....In thinking about it, I also will allow COR and squad to lose themselves a bit publicly in the celebrations i, once there is a Serious Conversation post Club Championships , individually & collectively as to where exactly each Player resides VIs A Vis ,Premier Competitions & League Standards . So, celebrate what has been achieved, and then Re Group quickly , and deal with the reality of the Road ahead.
Being humble , and knowing where we reside , as a Base , has been a problem for us for 10 years now or more , I'm hoping that COR quickly comes back down to Earth

Thelongwoodslasher (Meath) - Posts: 385 - 17/07/2023 10:31:12    2495013

Well done to the team after Offaly in Leinster and the end of the league I had huge questions over the ability and the will of the team to bounce back but they answered every question. Gray, Coffey and Brennan coming in definetly improved the team. It is great to have a cohort of young players with real size and atheltic ability in particular Gray and Flynn is a really exciting midfield duo. Having said that we do have to realise we beat division 3 and 4 teams and the league next year will be a step up. It's less daunting than last year with Derry and Dublin gone. Hopefully the young players push on and have a good off season and we can continue our upward trajectory along with getting some players back from my injury

LeitrimRoyal99 (Meath) - Posts: 1462 - 17/07/2023 11:21:42    2495049

Replying To Thelongwoodslasher:  "ok....have held back to try & get the right words, and not to provoke an avalanche of blowback or negativity to what i am going to say.
Without doubt, delighted that we won, on saturday, for no other reason that to lose i think would have been catastrophic on a number of levels , I am going to assume that COR knew this & hence Im going to give him a pass for for his over excited reaction afterwards to winning the TC. This wasn't about the TC, this was about recovering Ground and getting back to some degree of Self respect as a County . Its a starting point....17th best Team in Ireland ...and thats where we reside, and i give COR and his Management & the TEam serious credit to halting the slide, cause this could have gone "all th way" ...Now....In thinking about it, I also will allow COR and squad to lose themselves a bit publicly in the celebrations i, once there is a Serious Conversation post Club Championships , individually & collectively as to where exactly each Player resides VIs A Vis ,Premier Competitions & League Standards . So, celebrate what has been achieved, and then Re Group quickly , and deal with the reality of the Road ahead.
Being humble , and knowing where we reside , as a Base , has been a problem for us for 10 years now or more , I'm hoping that COR quickly comes back down to Earth"
COR has brought exactly what you want, a bit of humility and realisation of where we stand, as he said on Saturday this is a hungry team who want to improve and return to CP for bigger days. TC was used wisely with many getting championship starts, only 5/6 who started first league game against Cork started Saturday. Without doubt all concerned should enjoy the win and ignore the begrudgers, the lads deserve great credit for committment shown and whatever end game management were offering they got total buy in from panel. Delighted to see Colm happy after game, he deserves it, we have enough of the dour aftermatch interviews and I have no doubt Saturdays win will be quickly consigned to history and focus turned to championship and search for new talent. Meath never lost self respect over the years, yes we slipped back, however, we always gave our best, but in truth is was not good enough. Enjoy the win, majority of supporters and all involved realise its just a small step in right direction.

seadog54 (Meath) - Posts: 2149 - 17/07/2023 13:41:25    2495096

Replying To seadog54:  "COR has brought exactly what you want, a bit of humility and realisation of where we stand, as he said on Saturday this is a hungry team who want to improve and return to CP for bigger days. TC was used wisely with many getting championship starts, only 5/6 who started first league game against Cork started Saturday. Without doubt all concerned should enjoy the win and ignore the begrudgers, the lads deserve great credit for committment shown and whatever end game management were offering they got total buy in from panel. Delighted to see Colm happy after game, he deserves it, we have enough of the dour aftermatch interviews and I have no doubt Saturdays win will be quickly consigned to history and focus turned to championship and search for new talent. Meath never lost self respect over the years, yes we slipped back, however, we always gave our best, but in truth is was not good enough. Enjoy the win, majority of supporters and all involved realise its just a small step in right direction."
Agreed 100% I expect most Meath supporters will see it for what it is .Winning the TC was never the destination but just a pit stop on the way to the higher table. I didnt see anyone " losing the run of themselves" . However the declared anti COR s will continue to go to ground as things improve. So far so good . Well done to all ! Will be interesting to see how we move on in full preparation for tougher days ahead !

nobull456 (Meath) - Posts: 1227 - 17/07/2023 14:23:17    2495118

Been thinking now, getting out of Division 2 is still important but if you were Colm O'Rourke would you bother with the Leinster Championship next year. I never thought that would be something I'd ever say (or type) out loud but these are unprecedented times.

Save your powder for the All Ireland group stage might be the way to go. Perhaps that's what Mayo and Westmeath did this year.

LoyalRoyal (None) - Posts: 452 - 17/07/2023 22:12:06    2495256

Replying To LoyalRoyal:  "Been thinking now, getting out of Division 2 is still important but if you were Colm O'Rourke would you bother with the Leinster Championship next year. I never thought that would be something I'd ever say (or type) out loud but these are unprecedented times.

Save your powder for the All Ireland group stage might be the way to go. Perhaps that's what Mayo and Westmeath did this year."
No go for everything……winning is a habit……..as is losing and an all too easy option.

MillerX (Meath) - Posts: 1066 - 19/07/2023 13:06:22    2495617