Qualifiers

Replying To royaldunne:  "Tyrone ? You are having a laugh ? Actually as jinxie rightly pointed out. I've probably included them higher than I should have. And would have them behind Armagh and possibly cork. They are in a shambles. Worse than us. Them in navan ? In hindsight I'd have us beating them so not 50/50 in that regard. They are worse than we are."
We'll agree to disagree. If we draw them i'll be surprised if we're within 10 points of them

They stayed up in Division 1, hammered Fermanagh in Enniskillen (which rarely if ever happens) and were ambushed by Derry when producing their worst display in years. The demise of Tyrone has been greatly exaggerated by many and given the U20 all ireland they just won, will only be supplemented by talent in the coming years. No team takes to the back door better than Tyrone. I think it was 2018 we lost to them in Navan, you know where they ended up after that?? An all ireland final, Tyrone still have a huge say in how the championship will unfold.

McCurry, McShane and McKenna would lead our full back line on a merry dance with Hampsey, McNamee and O'Neill eating up our full forwards.

Whilst it's a hypothetical that we draw Tyrone i heard all this stuff in the lead up to Dublin, they were relegated, their squads weaker, the gap is closing, they're not what they used to be, they've lost players, their bench is inexperienced and you know what, they pulled our pants down, put us across their knee and beat our asses and had fun doing it. Tyrone would do exactly the same to us.

Looked I applaud the optimism of you and Jinxie, but being realistic, there's nothing of any substance to suggest we've any ability to even get close to Tyrone, never mind beating them.

brian (Meath) - Posts: 1954 - 18/05/2022 14:30:05    2418416

And here folks is why we are where we are. Disgraceful.
royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 18066 - 17/05/2022 19:17:20 2418243
You my good man are deluded.
Time to put this fiasco to bed. Lads hoping for an easy draw, get real. Our form has been desperate all season. Get Mayo in Navan and give it everything. Then thanks Andy and good luck

atta (Meath) - Posts: 698 - 18/05/2022 19:43:55    2418532

Some of the comments here are incredible lol. Tyrone and Armagh would both spank us lads I am sorry to say.

Meath10 (Meath) - Posts: 183 - 19/05/2022 11:46:16    2418633

Bar a league draw in 2011, we've lost every game we've played against Tyrone since 2007. This included a fallow period for them early last decade when Tyrone couldn't so much as reach an Ulster final, and even the qualifiers became difficult for them.

Yet now that Tyrone are All Ireland Champions, people reckon it's a 50/50 game?

Ye are on a different planet altogether.

CastleBravo (Meath) - Posts: 1643 - 19/05/2022 12:42:29    2418668

Replying To CastleBravo:  "Bar a league draw in 2011, we've lost every game we've played against Tyrone since 2007. This included a fallow period for them early last decade when Tyrone couldn't so much as reach an Ulster final, and even the qualifiers became difficult for them.

Ye are on a different planet altogether."
Indeed current ai champions. Without 7 of their first team players, huge disruption within panel. It is a shambles.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 20/05/2022 10:38:26    2418872

Replying To royaldunne:  "
Replying To CastleBravo:  "Bar a league draw in 2011, we've lost every game we've played against Tyrone since 2007. This included a fallow period for them early last decade when Tyrone couldn't so much as reach an Ulster final, and even the qualifiers became difficult for them.

Indeed current ai champions. Without 7 of their first team players, huge disruption within panel. It is a shambles."
Agh RD, at least be honest in what you;re saying not biased to suit your own argument.

The following is the starting 15 that lined out v Mayo
1. Niall Morgan

2. Michael McKernan
3. Ronan McNamee
4. Pádraig Hampsey

5. Frank Burns
6. Peter Harte
7. Kieran McGeary

8. Brian Kennedy
9. Conn Kilpatrick

10. Conor Meyler
11. Michael O'Neill
12. Niall Sludden

13. Darren McCurry
14. Matthew Donnelly
15. Conor McKenna

Subs
Cathal McShane for Matthew Donnelly (44th minute)
Darragh Canavan for Michael O'Neill (53rd minute)
Ben McDonnell for Brian Kennedy (57th minute)
Paul Donaghy for Conor McKenna (66th minute)
Tiernan McCann for Conn Kilpatrick (73rd minute)

The following are the 7 departures from the Tyrone Panel.
Paul Donaghy, Mark Bradley, Ronan O'Neill, Michael Cassidy, Tiernan McCann, Lee Brennan and Hugh Pat McGeary.

That's two players who were brought on in the All Ireland Final last year. The other 5 didn't start and weren't brought on. None of the starting 15 players departed the Tyrone squad. If that's "7 first team players" as you say I'm thoroughly lost.

Squads will change every year its the nature of things now. Every panel loses 6-8 players a year to travel, retirements, work schedule etc. Most of those that depart are on the edges of the panel and not starting, how many of Tyrone's starting 15 from last years all ireland final team are no longer there?

We lost Seamus Lavin, Michael Newman, Fionn Reilly and several other squad players. That means we're an almost as bug if not even a bigger shambles than Tyrone. And they won the all ireland last year, and can supplement their panel with an U20 team that won an all ireland last weekend.

brian (Meath) - Posts: 1954 - 20/05/2022 13:03:18    2418939

Replying To brian:  "
Replying To royaldunne:  "[quote=CastleBravo:  "Bar a league draw in 2011, we've lost every game we've played against Tyrone since 2007. This included a fallow period for them early last decade when Tyrone couldn't so much as reach an Ulster final, and even the qualifiers became difficult for them.

Indeed current ai champions. Without 7 of their first team players, huge disruption within panel. It is a shambles."
Agh RD, at least be honest in what you;re saying not biased to suit your own argument.

1. Niall Morgan

2. Michael McKernan
3. Ronan McNamee
4. Pádraig Hampsey

5. Frank Burns
6. Peter Harte
7. Kieran McGeary

8. Brian Kennedy
9. Conn Kilpatrick

10. Conor Meyler
11. Michael O'Neill
12. Niall Sludden

13. Darren McCurry
14. Matthew Donnelly
15. Conor McKenna

Subs

Paul Donaghy, Mark Bradley, Ronan O'Neill, Michael Cassidy, Tiernan McCann, Lee Brennan and Hugh Pat McGeary.

That's two players who were brought on in the All Ireland Final last year. The other 5 didn't start and weren't brought on. None of the starting 15 players departed the Tyrone squad. If that's "7 first team players" as you say I'm thoroughly lost.

Squads will change every year its the nature of things now. Every panel loses 6-8 players a year to travel, retirements, work schedule etc. Most of those that depart are on the edges of the panel and not starting, how many of Tyrone's starting 15 from last years all ireland final team are no longer there?

We lost Seamus Lavin, Michael Newman, Fionn Reilly and several other squad players. That means we're an almost as bug if not even a bigger shambles than Tyrone. And they won the all ireland last year, and can supplement their panel with an U20 team that won an all ireland last weekend."]Fair play to you Brian, you have the patience of a saint.

seadog54 (Meath) - Posts: 2142 - 20/05/2022 13:20:59    2418949

Replying To brian:  "
Replying To royaldunne:  "[quote=CastleBravo:  "Bar a league draw in 2011, we've lost every game we've played against Tyrone since 2007. This included a fallow period for them early last decade when Tyrone couldn't so much as reach an Ulster final, and even the qualifiers became difficult for them.

1. Niall Morgan

2. Michael McKernan
3. Ronan McNamee
4. Pádraig Hampsey

5. Frank Burns
6. Peter Harte
7. Kieran McGeary

8. Brian Kennedy
9. Conn Kilpatrick

10. Conor Meyler
11. Michael O'Neill
12. Niall Sludden

13. Darren McCurry
14. Matthew Donnelly
15. Conor McKenna

Subs

We lost Seamus Lavin, Michael Newman, Fionn Reilly and several other squad players. That means we're an almost as bug if not even a bigger shambles than Tyrone. And they won the all ireland last year, and can supplement their panel with an U20 team that won an all ireland last weekend."]And lets not forget that Tyrone have recently won the all ireland at under 20's level.

stillaroyal (Meath) - Posts: 224 - 20/05/2022 14:07:17    2418965

Cheers seadog and stillaroyal

I try and balance out what i write and sometimes I'll get it wrong but to try and claim 7 first teamers had left a panel was a stretch too far. Fringe panel members left a panel. It's happened everyone.

And I think i made reference to their U20 victory and they lost the minor final to us last year as well with another Canavan coming through with that bunch. Dara is on the senior panel, Ruari i think was on the U20 panel last weekend and then i thought there was another on the minor panel, but having looked now there wasn't.

brian (Meath) - Posts: 1954 - 20/05/2022 15:00:38    2418995

Brian, Seadog, Stillroyal....

Fair to say ye are on the same page.... :-)

Jinxie (Meath) - Posts: 6342 - 20/05/2022 15:19:24    2419010

Replying To Jinxie:  "Brian, Seadog, Stillroyal....

Fair to say ye are on the same page.... :-)"
TBF i think i have disagreed with both lads in the past, same as yourself Jinxie and I'm sure we will again in the future but we can have good reasoned discussion too. It's all healthy. Look I admit sometimes i can get things wrong, and hopefully I have always owned up to that on here. But stretching the truth to suit an argument which is false narrative is not on.

brian (Meath) - Posts: 1954 - 20/05/2022 15:27:35    2419013

Replying To Jinxie:  "Brian, Seadog, Stillroyal....

Fair to say ye are on the same page.... :-)"

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 20/05/2022 19:38:25    2419067

Replying To royaldunne:  ":)"
I think you understand what I'm referring to....;-)

Jinxie (Meath) - Posts: 6342 - 21/05/2022 15:25:36    2419191

Replying To Jinxie:  "I think you understand what I'm referring to....;-)"
I do

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 21/05/2022 17:05:55    2419212

Four close draws for qualifiers. Really good chance to progress in Ennis but not a certainty by any means. A bonus not getting Mayo or the Ulster teams. Definitely doable.

ABK67 (Meath) - Posts: 62 - 23/05/2022 09:05:14    2419574

Replying To Jinxie:  "I think you understand what I'm referring to....;-)"
Jinxie, I'm not sure if you're trying to have a go at me, or imply i'm posting in triplicate or what.

If that's what you're trying to say, then be open about it

If I've taken the wrong end of the stick then apologies

brian (Meath) - Posts: 1954 - 23/05/2022 09:46:17    2419589