Davis Cup final: Late Reilly strikes seals title for Kilmessan in extra time

May 18, 2024

Kilmessan's Eoin Harkin with Martin Healy Kildalkey during the Brendan Davis Cup final at Kildalkey

Kilmessan 1-21 Kildalkey 0-23 after extra time

Two late points from super sub Darren Reilly saw Kilmessan claim the Brendan Davis Cup at the the expense of holders Kildalkey in this absorbing final played in perfect conditions at Fr. Plunkett Park.

Kilmessan led at the break 1-9 to 0-7, their goal coming from a speculative Seanie Doyle shot ending up in the Kildalkey net after ten minutes. Nicky Horan’s men were 1-4 to 0-2 in front before keeper Cian O’Neill produced a brilliant save from a Paddy Conneely penalty. Niall McNally accounted for six of Kildalkey first half tally.

The eventual winners relied on free taker Luke Horan in the second half. The half forward raised five green flags. Joey and Kevin Keena also got in on the scoring act but the Jubilee Cup holders force extra time with two late scores from McNally.

Kilmessan led by a point at the end of the first half of extra time. Joey Keena with the score of the game along with Eoin Harkin and a Luke Horan brace accounted for their tally while Paddy Conneely pointed three times for Kildalkey. The Village pushed two in front in the opening minutes of the second half but Darren Reilly levelled the game and at the death sent over a long range free to seal a memorable win for Kilmessan.

Kilmessan: Cian O Neill, Cian O Sullivan, Shane Brennan, Chris Greene, Noah Conroy, Peter Farrell, Paddy Lally, Eoin Harkin 0-01, Ben McGovern 0-01, Luke Horan 0-10 (10f), Declan Smyth, Darragh Horan, Adam O Neill 0-02, Joey Keena 0-02, Sean Doyle 1-02

Subs: Darren Reilly 0-02 (2f), Kevin Keena 0-01

Referee Martin Dawson

Most Read Stories