Football All-Stars: All-Ireland champions the big winners

November 01, 2019

The Dublin players celebrate with the Sam Maguire Cup. ©INPHO/James Crombie.

All-Ireland football champions Dublin dominate the 2019 PwC GAA/GPA All-Stars team which was revealed at this evening's banquet in the Convention Centre.

After a record-breaking season which saw them become the first team in GAA history to win five All-Ireland titles in succession, the Dubs were awarded seven places.

Captain Stephen Cluxton leads the way with his sixth award and is joined by team-mates Michael Fitzsimons, Brian Howard, Jack McCaffrey, Brian Fenton, Paul Mannion and Con O'Callaghan. A memorable night for Cluxton and Dublin was crowned by his selection as Footballer of the Year.

Four players from beaten All-Ireland finalists Kerry are honoured - the Kingdom's winners are Tom O'Sullivan, David Moran, Sean O'Shea and David Clifford. Marksman O'Shea was also named Young Footballer of the Year.

Championship top scorer Cathal McShane is one of two Tyrone players included this year with Ronan McNamee being the other. Two other counties are represented as Mayo defender Patrick Durcan and Donegal skipper Michael Murphy complete the line-up.

2019 PwC Football All-Stars:


1 Stephen Cluxton (Dublin)


2 Michael Fitzsimons (Dublin)

3 Ronan McNamee (Tyrone)

4 Tom O'Sullivan (Kerry)

5 Patrick Durcan (Mayo)

6 Brian Howard (Dublin)

7 Jack McCaffrey (Dublin)


8 Brian Fenton (Dublin)

9 David Moran (Kerry)


10 Paul Mannion (Dublin)

11 Sean O'Shea (Kerry)

12 Michael Murphy (Donegal)

13 David Clifford (Kerry)

14 Cathal McShane (Tyrone)

15 Con O'Callaghan (Dublin)

Most Read Stories