Limerick see off Clare in Thurles to make Munster SHC history

June 09, 2024

Clare's David Fitzgerald and Kyle Hayes of Limerick ©INPHO/Bryan Keane

Limerick landed their sixth successive Munster senior hurling championship title this evening after seeing off Clare by 1-26 to 1-20 at a packed out Semple Stadium.

A crowd of 45,148 were in attendance at the Thurles venue, where the game’s start was delayed by 30 minutes due to a power outage, as John Kiely’s men became the first side to capture six Munster SHC crowns in-a-row.

The All-Ireland champions had trailed 0-6 to 0-4 after the opening 15 minutes before surging in front through the points of Diarmaid Byrnes, Kyle Hayes and Shane O’Brien.

Clare entered the added minutes of the opening half down by three, but their deficit would be wiped out in an instant when Peter Duggan rattled the Limerick net and sent the teams in all square (0-13 to 1-10) at the break.

After the change of ends, the holders dominated large portions of the third quarter and took firm control once Gearoid Hegarty flicked in their goal in the 46th minute.

That strike made it 1-18 to 1-12 and the Banner men wouldn’t be able to close the gap as they slumped to their third successive provincial final defeat here.

Most Read Stories