Trim shock Kilkenny champions in Leinster club IHC

November 12, 2022

Trim's James Toher with Conor McGill Ratoath

One of the biggest shocks of the season was provided at Nowlan Park this afternoon when Meath champions Trim overcame Danesfort by 0-16 to 0-15 in the Leinster club IHC quarter-final.

Most expected Danesfort, the 1/20 favourites, featuring Kilkenny greats and multiple All-Ireland winners Paul Murphy and Richie Hogan to see off the Royal County standard bearers with ease.

However, James Toher was outstanding for Trim, with strong performances from Charlie Ennis, Ciaran O'Rourke, Gerry Dwane and James Murray (0-9) also ensuring the Reds became the first Meath team to beat Kilkenny opposition in the club hurling championship since Kilmessan in 2008.

They will now fancy their chances of progressing further with a home semi-final against Offaly SHC B winners Tullamore, who proved too strong for Fr Dalton's of Westmeath at O'Connor Park, 1-17 to 0-10.

There was sensational drama at Parnell Park as Dublin SHC 3 champions Naomh Barróg dumped former senior kingpins Oulart-The Ballagh out of the provincial series 3-2 on penalties.

A last-ditch Rory Jacob goal for the Wexford side deep into injury-time at the end of normal-time had forced extra-time which finished Naomh Barróg 1-25, Oulart the Ballagh 2-22.

The game was marred by a mass brawl between both sets of players in the second-half of normal time.

Meanwhile, at Echelon Park in Aughrim, Wicklow SHC title holders Bray Emmets sqeezed past Laois counterparts Abbeyleix St Lazarian's by 0-18 to 0-17.

Elsewhere, St Fechin's (Louth) and Setanta (Donegal) enjoyed comfortable victories in the Leinster club JHC and Ulster club JHC competitons respectively.


Leinster club IHC quarter-finals
Bray Emmets (Wicklow) 0-18 Abbeyleix St Lazarian's (Laois) 0-17, Echelon Park, Aughrim, 1.30pm FT
Trim (Meath) 0-16 Danesfort (Kilkenny) 0-15, UPMC Nowlan Park, 1.30pm FT
Tullamore (Offaly) 1-17 Fr Dalton's (Westmeath) 0-10, O'Connor Park, 1.30pm FT
Naomh Barróg (Dublin) 1-25 Oulart-The Ballagh (Wexford) 2-22, Parnell Park, 1.30pm AET (Naomh Barróg win 3-2 on penalties)

Leinster club JHC quarter-finals
St Fechin's (Louth) 1-18 Kilcoole (Wicklow) 1-6, Darver, 12.30pm FT
Blacks and Whites (Kilkenny) 2-20 Ringtown (Westmeath) 0-17, TEG Cusack Park, 1.30pm AET
Commercials (Dublin) 1-17 Mountmellick (Laois) 0-10, O'Toole Park, 1.30pm FT
Horeswood (Wexford) 0-20 Éire Óg Corra Choill (Kildare) 0-13, St Patrick's Park, Enniscorthy, 1.30pm FT

Ulster club JHC semi-finals
Shane O'Neill's (Antrim) 1-20 Sean Treacy's (Armagh) 0-12, Eoghan Ruadh Hurling Club, 5pm FT
Setanta (Donegal) 2-20 Na Magha (Derry) 1-16, O'Neill's Healy Park, Omagh, 5pm FT

Most Read Stories