Galway Hurling thread

Replying To ColmFlaherty:  "Last time we're deemed as big favourites for a game in Croke Park they got embarrassed...."
When was that? We haven't been big favourites for a game in Croke Park for a long time. Favourites for this year's Leinster final obviously, not big favourites, but we won that comfortablly.
We might have been slight favourites against Kilkenny in the Leinster final in 2020. We threw that away, but it was a tight game. Favourites in 2018, went well behind but almost levelled it at the end. We certainly weren't favourites for any of our Croke Park games against Limerick after that.

WanPintWin (Galway) - Posts: 2934 - 03/07/2026 13:33:09    2683922

all the best tomorrow..
feel daniels has ben hard done but management knows best.
hope daithi is ok and can go full trottle at it..
its a big big ask but who knows..

tear into lads.
gaillimh abu

gbay (Galway) - Posts: 291 - 03/07/2026 13:56:44    2683929

Apparently over 25,000 Galway people going with Galweigins who live in Dublin could be over 30000 supporting the men in maroon and white....Cork will probably have 50000 supporters there.
All is calm before the storm, the vibe is quietly confident from chatting Galway people if Galway produce the goods Galway will win.

katser (Galway) - Posts: 2899 - 03/07/2026 14:07:01    2683935

Replying To ColmFlaherty:  "Last time we're deemed as big favourites for a game in Croke Park they got embarrassed...."
Keep it coming lads....

bloodandbandage (Cork) - Posts: 606 - 03/07/2026 14:22:39    2683938

Replying To WanPintWin:  "When was that? We haven't been big favourites for a game in Croke Park for a long time. Favourites for this year's Leinster final obviously, not big favourites, but we won that comfortablly.
We might have been slight favourites against Kilkenny in the Leinster final in 2020. We threw that away, but it was a tight game. Favourites in 2018, went well behind but almost levelled it at the end. We certainly weren't favourites for any of our Croke Park games against Limerick after that."
Lapse of concentration was meant to have said last time Cork were favourites in Croke Park they got embarrassed.

ColmFlaherty (Galway) - Posts: 144 - 03/07/2026 15:37:04    2683959

Replying To bloodandbandage:  "Keep it coming lads...."
Slight typo of sorts their was meant to have read 'last time Cork were deemed as big favourites in Croke Park they got embarrassed'

ColmFlaherty (Galway) - Posts: 144 - 03/07/2026 15:38:15    2683960

Replying To katser:  "Getting set for an absolute cracker of a All Ireland Semi Final between Galway v Cork.
Galway have a fine team with a good mix of youth and experience and are well able to match Cork man v man.all over the field.
Cork might have the legs but Galway definitely are more physical and have the skills to hurt Cork.
I'm loving the situation Galway are in......no talk, nobody gives them a chance, 4 weeks off, Cork apparently Getting ready for the All Ireland Final.
I can feel the mother of all ambushes coming.......Galway to win by 2pts."
Have to eat humble pie with my prediction congrats to Galway great display lovely style of hurling well done

Tiger1 (Wexford) - Posts: 459 - 04/07/2026 17:13:15    2684177

Nothing won yet but by God that was tremendous. Blew Cork away in that second half. Stunning performance.

Beir bua Gaillimh!!

festinog (Galway) - Posts: 3161 - 04/07/2026 17:13:26    2684178

Beaten 11pts by a majestic Galway team.
Goodluck

katser (Galway) - Posts: 2899 - 04/07/2026 17:22:54    2684181

Well, they definitely kept it coming.

festinog (Galway) - Posts: 3161 - 04/07/2026 17:29:47    2684183

Cusack needs to have more respect for Golwaaay....that would be a start. First round of the NHL....said Galway hurlers were like de sponsors.....de supermac burger......looks lovely and invoiting.....but when you take a boite out of it, it doesn't taste too good at all.

They didn't even take a bite today.

Pope_Benedict (Galway) - Posts: 4845 - 04/07/2026 17:52:48    2684190

Well done lads! Pretty comprehensive win!!!

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 20194 - 04/07/2026 18:19:00    2684200

Congratulations, Galway. Keep the heads and with that skill and work rate, ye are good enough to win it out, irrespective of whether it is Clare or Limk (50-50 game).

Ye totally mastered Cork! Bossed them all over the field and they simply were not able to stand up to it!

foreveryoung (USA) - Posts: 2593 - 04/07/2026 18:53:54    2684210

Well done Galway, I didn't see that coming. But, you've got to keep your feet on the ground, there's a final still to be played. It's great to see the Leinster Champions give a top Munster side a beating. Especially after most people had written you off. Plus, all the recent denigration and mocking of the Leinster Championship.
Good luck in the final.

Cockney_Cat (UK) - Posts: 2925 - 04/07/2026 19:25:55    2684218

Cork were out hurled, out worked and totally out if their league today. Well done Galway

Armchairreporter (Galway) - Posts: 152 - 04/07/2026 19:57:11    2684226

What a performance that was...a day to live long in the memory whether we win it out in two weeks or not!

These younger guys are definitely the real deal, that's what today proved (importantly) and I have to say above all of them Jason Rabbitte is proving himself a generational talent. His 0-3 score today belies the enormity of his achievement. He literally had to play the entire Cork full back line on his own out there today in Croker and he hurled them into submission...like nothing I've seen from a 19 year old before, Cork were in bits (some of them hauled off the pitch) by the end of it.

After the match he said about the team "we're coming" but not wanting to bring pressure on his young shoulders I think it would be accurate to say "he's coming"!

Flaherty (UK) - Posts: 132 - 04/07/2026 19:57:21    2684227

Fair play to Galway a fantastic display. Keep grounded and ye just might win it.

jobber (Westmeath) - Posts: 1980 - 04/07/2026 20:28:53    2684230