Replying To S1234: "Well it wont be ye that Andy is concentrating on Galway will beat ye wel ."
Where did I say it would be us he would be concentrating on? Thank you for pointing this out please. Your contributions are absolutely superb. Thank you so many millions.
A few points before I get onto the big game on Saturday.
I've no solution to it but the club league is starting to become irrelevant/embarrassing at this stage. Having starred games is all well and good in most counties where there is a big population but in Leitrim we just can't handle it. Some of the reports from the games last weekend are eye-opening of the standard of teams that were put out. The bigger teams are now pretty much using them as Pre-season.
Hearing reports of referees getting outrageous abuse at the weekend again. Theres a reason we really struggle to entice new refs in the county and it always seems to be certain clubs who are the culprits. The same clubs don't even have any Refs taking games either.
Onto Sunday. It'll be interesting to see how Poacher targets this game. Gavin Reynolds is out so one change will be necessary. Galway are huge around the middle so we might need to bring in some brawn. Colm McLoughlin has got a good few U20 games into his legs lately after injury and would be well able to mix it for an hour so I could see him being an option. Or do you start Ben Guckian if he is fit?
The match up's then will be interesting - Poacher smartly used Cillian McGloin to man-mark Cian Lally the last day. Would he trust him closer to goal on Finnerty?
Winning our own kickouts is going to be the barometer which will show how close we can keep this game. If we can't get a foothold with primary possession and on a warm day on a fast pitch Galway could run through us.
Barrry will obviously be targeted and after Tom Prior having such a good game against them in the FBD I'd assume they could send Johnny McGrath after him.
The likes of Keith Keegan, Oisin & Fergal McLoughlin finally showed that they can mix it at Inter-county level the last day so if they can all maintain that standard hopefully we can be competitive. We are going to have to up the amount of 2 pointers we kick and Barry will be pinned down so Ryan and Co will have to be as efficient as possible.
Reality is we are going to be under the cosh so we need a huge Leitrim support - it's the least the players deserve after the great performance in Sligo.
third midfielder (Leitrim) - Posts: 362 - 22/04/2026 09:43:53
Just when we've recovered from this childish swooning and blowing kisses I'm taking the opportunity to alert a few contributors to the fact that the game is on Saturday. Has any of the serious Leitrim supporters any news on fitness / availability of our charges…
Replying To Boxtyeater: "Just when we've recovered from this childish swooning and blowing kisses I'm taking the opportunity to alert a few contributors to the fact that the game is on Saturday. Has any of the serious Leitrim supporters any news on fitness / availability of our charges…"
Swooning and kissing? Begob what thread are you looking at?
Replying To Mugatay: "Great week ahead. Train tickets booked already. Fantastic performance v Sligo. Hard work put in all over the field as well as McNulty being a stand out performer. As someone said earlier, you can not underestimate his importance to Leitrim. He is the tide that raises all the boats. My own young fella is gone mad practicing with both feet since the game as well as shouldering me after he scores a goal on me ! Great to see. But we were also not afraid to have a pop at goal for points and goals. We converted our goal chances and didn't give Sligo too many. Typically we don't convert these and then we are left thinking what could have been.
The last time Galway came to Carrick in 2015, we lost by 8. We missed 3 goal chances and Galway pulled and dragged us all over the field conceding 42 frees. No black cards then and a lenient referee so persistent fouling was allowed to carry on and we got no momentum.
Fair play to Poacher, He had them well drilled-fantastic to hear the singing in the dressing room after. No win at underage is definitely a worry and that conversation is for later in the Summer.
Encourage people to get to this game. Poor turn out in sligo compared with 2011. Yes ticket prices put the pinch on but bring your flask of tae and sandwiches with you like the old days. Bring a ball and a flag for the kids. We don't need to have a buffet of sugar foods for the kids surely. If so, leave them at home or on a playdate as they haven't the interest yet. We don't get many days out and the last day was worth every cent. Liatroim abú"
Great post,very positive & hope the dream continues Saturday. Looks a settled team for a long time . Pity Gavin Reilly is out. Great prospect but Benny will probably slot in there.i agree underage results are a worry. We have about half a team at the top level which is down to our population.But we're-getting there
Replying To bláthach: "I agree thank you for giving me the opportunity to do so- I am sure they are looking at testing themselves against one of the big two and who knows maybe by Saturday evening we could be facing for a Connacht final against our former manager!! Wouldn't that be nice please. Thank you all."
Stephen Poacher always had eyes on a Connaught Final appearance as a minimum this year, Handy enough side of the draw also, Sligo challenge match was decent prep for a Galway team that wont travel well to Carrick on Shannon. It still wont be straightforward. I expect Galway to run us close but fancy us by 3 to 5 points in the end. Who would we prefer in the final? Mayo so we say hello to Andy again or The Sheepshaggers who are our neighbours? Either way will be a grand day out.
Replying To fundamunda: "Stephen Poacher always had eyes on a Connaught Final appearance as a minimum this year, Handy enough side of the draw also, Sligo challenge match was decent prep for a Galway team that wont travel well to Carrick on Shannon. It still wont be straightforward. I expect Galway to run us close but fancy us by 3 to 5 points in the end. Who would we prefer in the final? Mayo so we say hello to Andy again or The Sheepshaggers who are our neighbours? Either way will be a grand day out."
Very poor form the vitriol and bile in this post. Very childish and amateurish but what would you expect from those who are habitually hapless. Love to all.
I love the optimism of this post thanks so much please for sharing it. However I don't think we will beat Galway this time thank you. Plus I don't think Roscommon will get near mayo at all thanks so much. So it's going to be the big two in the final AGAIN I feel. Thank you all.
Galway v Leitrim - hard to see anything but a Galway win here but a creditable performance by Leitrim to keep it within six points would be an excellent result...Galway by 8
Mayo v Roscomnom - I will be in Castlebar on business Sunday and hope to get into the last 15 mins of this game in time to see Mayo finishing this one out comfortably...Mayo by 10