Probably worth noting for context that three years ago, Galway had the following results against Kilkenny and Dublin at Minor level.... ElGranSenor (Wexford) - Posts: 1027 - 04/04/2026 22:47:39 2664816 Link 0 |
Challenge games mean nothing, especially as the lad who scored 3-9 today didnt play in most of them. Nor did a few others who were with your Seniors. Afaik we played 4 challenge games against Munster counties, maybe 5, and only lost 1 of them. Thats why you would be hot favourites in my book. Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 19054 - 04/04/2026 23:16:13 2664826 Link 0 |
Kilkenny will win by 10 to 15 points next week. How have Oulart nobody on this team and Glynn Barntown only 1 yet the 2 best Minor teams year after year. A complete joke of a set up
Bryson (Wexford) - Posts: 26 - 04/04/2026 23:37:49 2664829 Link 0 |
Some will play some wont it seemed to be used to get game time into some lads who will defo play on minor team proper. Lads like Rory Durack Sean Doyle Eoghan Keogh are great talents. Minors should be good
Bryson (Wexford) - Posts: 26 - 04/04/2026 23:44:04 2664831 Link 0 |
Same management over both teams
Bryson (Wexford) - Posts: 26 - 04/04/2026 23:45:33 2664832 Link 0 |
Just finished watching the game now. Or more specifically, the first half. Because it was over by then. StoreysTash (Wexford) - Posts: 1980 - 04/04/2026 23:52:56 2664834 Link 0 |
3 years ago- 1 good result. How many hidings in between. They scored 3-6 from play. We scored 2 points. Be worried about the Kildare game and a repeat of 2021. countyman2022 (Wexford) - Posts: 955 - 05/04/2026 08:52:05 2664847 Link 0 |
Yeah, probably, you'd know better than me but I'd say ye still probably have a few to come back, I'd say your coaching staff will be very happy with how efficient your forwards were but don't think they'll be happy with Galway's performance in the middle third, didn't really dominate there
ElGranSenor (Wexford) - Posts: 1027 - 05/04/2026 11:31:47 2664854 Link 0 |
Kilkenny beat Kildare yesterday by 9 points, they beat us by 4 points three years ago in Minor and they got thwacked by Kilkenny twice, maybe they do give us a hiding next week and I'll be proven wrong but I don't think we're nearly as far off them as we are off Galway, they're probably miles clear of everyone in Leinster this year
ElGranSenor (Wexford) - Posts: 1027 - 05/04/2026 11:36:41 2664855 Link 0 |
From Oulart O'Connor and Moore are injured afaik. Peter Wickham wouldn't commit to u20. Rhys Wickham and Dempsey are on the u19s. Jason is Sub keeper, but I think would have been worth a look outfield, the lad can take a point. Jack Dunne is skilful but lacking in size and dog. From Barntown Colin Carley started, Darragh Ryan came on. Not sure about Whelan or Kirwan. Thats quite a few names isnt it? Barntown when Ive seen them at minor seem to be a proper good team the way they play but perhaps not as many exceptional hurlers. There are more from both clubs on the minor panel, especially Barntown who will be a very good Senior team in a few years time if the lads keep developing. Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 19054 - 05/04/2026 18:17:06 2664898 Link 0 |
Ah come on Paull thats massaging stats to suit a narrative as bad as I ever do!!!! They beat Cork by 14 points in the AIMSF 3 years ago as well. It wasnt just Leinster teams they hammered that year. Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 19054 - 05/04/2026 18:21:35 2664899 Link 0 |
Fear in what way? Did you ever watch the 2019 AIMSF? Galway were giants who walked all over us physically. Utter domination. That isnt the case any more. And just to remind you Galway werent in Leinster at u21 at all when we won the 3 in a row, and Kilkenny were very very poor backboned by the lads who have been on the Kilkenny teams that have endured their longest Senior drought since they won their 1st AI. And 1 of those 3 Leinster winning teams lost a semifinal to Antrim, and the others got bad beatings when they finally faced a Munster team. We havent been great at minor since the 60s, and havent been much better at u21 since then either. Yes we arent going well the last 2 years bar the odd result as you say, but then we never have gone very well over a period of time at those grades in my lifetime. As regards this year, let's wait to see how we fare out at the end of the year before making hasty judgements. Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 19054 - 05/04/2026 18:36:57 2664901 Link 1 |
Wickham didn't commit because they would not play him. He was the outstanding minor in 2025 but they would not play him on the 19s either last year. He will be one of the best forwards on the County team next year. Oisin Moore played for the 19s v Dublin so is surely not injured? Cian O Connor was not picked for the 19s last year either and if on the bench v Galway then must be fit to play. Jack Dunne was on the 20s team last year but not this year. Thomas Kirwan could not make the 19s this year. Conor Reardon was on the 19s as an 18 but not asked back this year. Cian Donovan not make minor or 19s panel but talking to a Glynn lad today he got 1.07 from play marking a lad who did start on the Wexford 19s team v Dublin and also 1.08 from play v Anne's Junior team a few weeks back. Cathal Sinnott admittedly is only coming back from a long term wrist injury and would be a nailed on starter if available. Alfie Whelan is currently injured. You can say what you want and give loads of reasons and excuses but there were 3 or 4 lads who started v Galway who are at best equal to all the lads I named above. Also looking outside those 2 clubs Charlie Mooney could not do much more and is at worst the 5th best back in Wexford at his age . Marin Kisov from Buffers Alley is a player with enormous potential if given a chsnce At least the minor management seem to be playing the best lads who have proven themselves in club hurling over the last few years. All those lads have proven themselves at the highest available level which cannot be said for a lot of those who played v Galway. But then when management are given a 2nd term on the back of 1 win after being humiliated by an average Laois team at home plus hammered by Kilkenny and Galway then you cannot expect much better. Paull (Wexford) - Posts: 264 - 05/04/2026 19:15:26 2664905 Link 0 |
They took off their Centre back and Jason Rabbit yesterday at half time. Plus didn't play Cullen Killeen who got man of the match in the Club Senior All Ireland Semi final a few Months back. If they had to win by 15pts they would have. It was no shock to anyone in Wexford we lost by that. And yes Kilkenny wont be as good but thats not the issue. The issue is we could be a lot better. Paull (Wexford) - Posts: 264 - 05/04/2026 19:20:11 2664908 Link 0 |
To add a bit of positivity I really think we will start competing soon at Minor level and by competing I mean winning knockout games and getting to Leinster Finals and All Ireland Semi finals. But we definitely don't help ourselves along the way. We have to get a lot better at consistently getting our best players on the pitch. We are very good at picking players now who will be ready for next year but not very good at picking players now who are ready for the next match.. Paull (Wexford) - Posts: 264 - 05/04/2026 19:32:51 2664910 Link 0 |
Of course we could. No argument there.
Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 19054 - 05/04/2026 19:44:41 2664911 Link 0 |
Some opinions and inaccuracies here. Peter Wickham did play for our u19s ladt year, he played half the game against Dublin and didnt score, and the whole game against Kilkenny failing to score also, and the whole game in the Shield final against Offaly, scoring 1 point. He wont be one of our best Senior forwards next year would be my opinion, though Id be delighted to be proven wrong. And it wasnt like he left the panel recently, I got told a couple of months ago he hadn't committed when I asked. A better player I asked about at the same time from last years u19s who started regularly at Senior for his club last year was Sean Denton, a scoring forward with plenty of dog, he didn't commit either. One of our best u20s last year was Eoin Hughes. He left the hurling this year to concentrate on Football. Hes still only u19. 2 others who left for Football were Gethings and Rossiter. Kian O'Connor is injured, a clubman of his told me that only a couple of days ago. Jack Dunne didnt start all our u20 games last year, and physically doesn't look up to it this year, though hes a good hurler for sure. Maybe when hes up to the age he will be more of a physical player, but thats up to himself, not anyone else. Conor Reardon didn't play for the u19s against Dublin, Kilkenny or Offaly last year. Tomas Kirwan wasnt a regular starter at minor last year, did he start more than 1 game? He didnt play at all in some games. He seems a nice chap, was talking to him a couple times, but its a stretch to say that a lad who wasnt a regular player, never mind a starter, at u17 should suddenly be nailed on for u19 only a few months later. Tbh I havent seen Donovan play live so I can't comment on him really, but he didnt stand out when I watched the minor final at the end of last year on tv, Im not sure he scored at all tbh. As regards last years failings I saw 3 of their games. Unlike our minors the team was pretty well set up, but lacked badly for physicality which seems to be something that they have addressed this year. Give them a chance. Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 19054 - 05/04/2026 20:23:17 2664917 Link 0 |
Some opinions and inaccuracies here. Peter Wickham did play for our u19s ladt year, he played half the game against Dublin and didnt score, and the whole game against Kilkenny failing to score also, and the whole game in the Shield final against Offaly, scoring 1 point. He wont be one of our best Senior forwards next year would be my opinion, though Id be delighted to be proven wrong. And it wasnt like he left the panel recently, I got told a couple of months ago he hadn't committed when I asked. A better player I asked about at the same time from last years u19s who started regularly at Senior for his club last year was Sean Denton, a scoring forward with plenty of dog, he didn't commit either. One of our best u20s last year was Eoin Hughes. He left the hurling this year to concentrate on Football. Hes still only u19. 2 others who left for Football were Gethings and Rossiter. Kian O'Connor is injured, a clubman of his told me that only a couple of days ago. Jack Dunne didnt start all our u20 games last year, and physically doesn't look up to it this year, though hes a good hurler for sure. Maybe when hes up to the age he will be more of a physical player, but thats up to himself, not anyone else. Conor Reardon didn't play for the u19s against Dublin, Kilkenny or Offaly last year. Tomas Kirwan wasnt a regular starter at minor last year, did he start more than 1 game? He didnt play at all in some games. He seems a nice chap, was talking to him a couple times, but its a stretch to say that a lad who wasnt a regular player, never mind a starter, at u17 should suddenly be nailed on for u19 only a few months later. Tbh I havent seen Donovan play live so I can't comment on him really, but he didnt stand out when I watched the minor final at the end of last year on tv, Im not sure he scored at all tbh. As regards last years failings I saw 3 of their games. Unlike our minors the team was pretty well set up, but lacked badly for physicality which seems to be something that they have addressed this year. Give them a chance. Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 19054 - 05/04/2026 20:29:01 2664918 Link 0 |
Jason Rabitte picked up a knock and was taken off as a precaution, but in fairness to Charlie Roark he played well on him. They did have a couple lads out injured too. Campbell the centreback played the whole game, as did their other 2 halfbacks. They changed their whole fullback line, well the 3 wasnt taken off til the very end. Their only back 6 player with real pace Murphy went off injured in the 1st half, and Quirke was poor tbh, it was surprising they left him on til the 3/4 mark. Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 19054 - 05/04/2026 20:37:50 2664920 Link 0 |