My opinion is its a free shot take the game to them if we can and see where it goes . All the pressure is on Down . Short price favourites and momentum on their side too We beat them in qualifiers in 2008 on our way to all ire semi . Remember the shoulder from molloy in the park not sure of year 2010 maybe . Nearly put opposition player into the town end terrace . Prob best shoulder i ever seen legal and perfectly timed . Think I saw it on YouTube not so long ago . . Brilliant reward for the footballers who soldier on without much recognition delighted for the team , panel, management and everyone who gives their time and effort into football . Formertownie (Wexford) - Posts: 553 - 23/03/2026 12:23:45 2662488 Link 0 |
The shoulder was in the 2012 Div 3 League Final against Longford, I think?
ElGranSenor (Wexford) - Posts: 997 - 23/03/2026 13:04:03 2662505 Link 0 |
One other thing I'd like to say from yesterday. I know he has his detractors and faux pas, but Spratt's commentatory of the closing moments was goose-bump inducing. As iconic as any other moment from radio. He'll be missed when he's gone. beano (Wexford) - Posts: 1527 - 23/03/2026 13:12:03 2662513 Link 0 |
Would've been great if more had come. Still, the lads who didnt were the ones who missed out. Think we have had that strip awhile, not sure how long. It was very disappointing to read in the wake of the win a post online put up by a former Senior Football player complaining that we have 140 lads on the u14 hurling panel and that 30 can't play both. Firstly there are 48, or maybe now 49, lads on the u14 hurling development squad. The regional idea with 120, not 140, lads was one I pushed for for a few years, as firstly there was demand for it, there were way more lads wanting to try for the u14 hurling development squad than the football one, and secondly the more successful counties at underage have similar numbers at u14, Clare, Cork, Tipp etc. As it was it was only partially adopted, there were 3 training sessions and a couple of short games on Paddy's Day for the 72 lads who arent on the 48. Might be another couple at Easter and in the summer. And ironically it was a man from a hurling club who didnt agree with the idea. There are currently only 40 on the Football Development Squad at u14 as there werent enough lads deemed good enough by the Football men running the programme. There will be additional lads invited based on club/school form to fill the other 8 places. So where you would get 120 boys to fill a similar programme for Football is a big problem. There werent even 120 lads apply to try out for the u14 Football development squad in total in the firat place. The idea behind only doing 1 or other from u14 to minor is to maximise contacts in both. When lads were dual from u14 to minor they were missing training sessions and matches where these clashed, which turned out to be quite often with pitch availability etc, which didnt help their personal development in either code, or help other panel members and coaches of either either. The aim for both the Hurling and Football development squads is to try to produce elite hurlers and footballers for our Senior teams. Its sad when GAA people are trying to stoke divisions in the county, when there are increasingly more elite young sportspeople in the county pursuing soccer and rugby instead. At the end of the day if young lads dont want to be elite Footballers its up to Football men in the county at grassroots level to try get more young people interested in playing the game. Our club promotes both codes evenly, we would traditionally be a more Football leaning club, but we can't force our young people to prefer one over the other, and interestingly we have lads on the u16, u15 and u14 hurling development squads, but only lads on the u14 Football development squad. Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 18847 - 23/03/2026 13:31:15 2662520 Link 1 |
29 june 2015 v down in the park we won by 5pts . Thats after check back on it . Still brilliant to.watch Formertownie (Wexford) - Posts: 553 - 23/03/2026 13:35:06 2662523 Link 0 |
I honestly think the Down game will be very different from our league game against them. Magpie2 (Wexford) - Posts: 653 - 23/03/2026 13:37:07 2662524 Link 0 |
correct
Stmunnsriver (Wexford) - Posts: 3059 - 23/03/2026 14:08:05 2662538 Link 0 |
we are 4/1 to beat down, cant believe that! Stmunnsriver (Wexford) - Posts: 3059 - 23/03/2026 14:15:53 2662544 Link 0 |
To be fair Down have been head and shoulders above everyone including ourselves all league so its not surprising
tearintom (Wexford) - Posts: 1629 - 23/03/2026 14:34:45 2662550 Link 0 |
Brilliant to see Wexford football back in Division 2, it feels like it's been an age since the Wexford footballers were relevant. Will definitely benefit from playing at a higher level next year. Cabbagepatch1667 (Meath) - Posts: 125 - 23/03/2026 14:36:40 2662554 Link 0 |
Wikipedia has helped me to solve this one :) Group stage draw for last year's Sam Maguire Cup includes the League ranking for each of the counties involved: https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/2025_All-Ireland_Senior_Football_Championship#Group_stage_draw Counties 1 to 14 from the League were there, along with Down (ranked 17th) and Clare (19th). Down were there as Tailteann Cup winners of the year before, and Clare were there as beaten Munster finalists. But here's the thing - Down had actually finished 7th in Div. 2 in the League, which you might think would mean they'd be ranked 15th overall. But they were actually 17th. Seems the two promoted teams from Div. 3 (Kildare & Offaly) were ranked 15th & 16th instead. Similarly, Derry finished bottom of Division 1 last year (i.e. 8th in Div. 1), but were ranked 10th for Sam Maguire purposes, behind the two teams promoted from Div. 2. So it means the promoted teams from a lower division are ranked above the relegated teams from the higher division all right. Which means that Wexford & Down will be playing off for 15th & 16th place on Saturday. 16th place won't be good enough for Sam Maguire since Kildare are already assured of a place there after winning last year's Tailteann Cup. But whoever wins on Saturday and finishes 15th might get in all right. Pikeman96 (Wexford) - Posts: 3406 - 23/03/2026 14:58:22 2662565 Link 0 |
Were you listening while watching?!!!!!
Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 18847 - 23/03/2026 15:04:58 2662570 Link 0 |
We are promoted regardless of the result Saturday. Tailtean Cup holders rank higher than div 3 winners and runners up.
Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 18847 - 23/03/2026 15:07:19 2662573 Link 0 |
We will have Dublin, Tyrone, Monaghan, Louth, Cavan, Down and Derry in the League next year!
Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 18847 - 23/03/2026 15:10:05 2662574 Link 0 |
Is there any private buses going up does anyone know to the game? Not Wexford bus/bus eireann. Does be a bit of craic in fairness Wexford26 (Wexford) - Posts: 2 - 23/03/2026 15:17:48 2662576 Link 0 |
I have had a couple of whatsapp recordings sent to me of the live radio commentary and someone spliced that together with the TG4 coverage today too. Its wonderful stuff.
beano (Wexford) - Posts: 1527 - 23/03/2026 15:18:00 2662577 Link 0 |
Any supporters bus going to Croke Park would be a great idea for the lads they deserve it. Wexford26 (Wexford) - Posts: 2 - 23/03/2026 15:22:04 2662580 Link 0 |
I meant to sam mc guire
Formertownie (Wexford) - Posts: 553 - 23/03/2026 15:37:07 2662590 Link 0 |
If a team from div 3 or div 4 makes a Provincial Final they will jump ahead of ourselves and Down also.
Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 18847 - 23/03/2026 15:40:18 2662592 Link 0 |
more good news heard martin o conner is back training, now iv no idea what stage he is at but its a good sigh Stmunnsriver (Wexford) - Posts: 3059 - 23/03/2026 16:01:16 2662599 Link 0 |