Wexford Hurling Thread

https://wexfordgaa.ie/wp-content/uploads/2026/03/Presentation-Wexford-GAA-Strategic-Plan-2026-2030.pdf

Makes for interesting reading (Although some of you were already aware of this and have discussed some of the key points on here)

ElGranSenor (Wexford) - Posts: 956 - 09/03/2026 12:08:47    2660640

Replying To Viking66:  "Its still feature of our play that we can either not start well, or fade out for a large chunk of the game. The only positive that way is that we have been finishing games stronger this year.
Think some players are playing themselves out of starts come championship.
Have a feeling around half the starters yesterday wont be starting in Newbridge......"
I think 10 of yesterday's team could be starting in Newbridge

Fanning
Donohoe (Injury permitting)
Conor Foley
Carley
Reck
Lawlor
Hearne
Chin
Kevin Foley
Roche

ElGranSenor (Wexford) - Posts: 956 - 09/03/2026 12:10:38    2660642

Replying To Doylerwex:  "I get what you're saying, and at this stage it makes no difference. I'd have been very confident if we needed a result against Kildare but now we don't so anything can happen. I am already thinking about new bridge at this stage."
I suppose the next game should tell us a lot about them

We'll learn a lot about what their Championship team will be and how they will set-up because Dowling has played a very settled side so far this year (Basically had 10 likely Championship starters starting against Kilkenny in the Walsh Shield)

I'd be surprised if the team they play against us the next day is substantially different to the team they start against us in Newbridge; they have about 19 who could start in the Championship. Tbh, they've probably had the fewest number of different starters in the league to date

ElGranSenor (Wexford) - Posts: 956 - 09/03/2026 12:15:04    2660643

Replying To Doylerwex:  "At this stage in our development I'd argue Kilkenny probably are the bar. We're not going to win the all Ireland and we're very unlikely to beat any of the Munster teams in championship. The best we can hope for is a good go at Leinster, baring in mind that we're currently 4th in the pecking order."
Maybe as a short-term benchmark, not as a long-term benchmark though

ElGranSenor (Wexford) - Posts: 956 - 09/03/2026 12:17:08    2660644

Replying To Doylerwex:  "I agree. A very exciting young lad with a brilliant attitude."
Is he best in midfield?

ElGranSenor (Wexford) - Posts: 956 - 09/03/2026 12:18:14    2660645

Replying To wexford2012:  "Stepping aside from yesterdays game and result I often think of Clare as a benchmark county for us. Similar population to us, on the fringe of the hurling core, with comparative levels of historic success. However it feels like over the past decade or so there has been a divergence. Most obviously in that they have won 3 all Irelands since our last, most notably 2013 and 2024 but that have the whip hand in most serous encounters with Wexford and have more generally remained competitive in the championship. They are producing the type of player that are really struggling to, big, strong, and who can hurl.

Back in 1995 Liam Griffin sounded an alarm, that the culture of hurling in Wexford was under threat and that we needed senior success to rejuvenate this, this was a driving force behind his push in 1996 but here we are 30 years on and I think that culture is in parts, particularly the towns, collapsing. I heard that in one town school, in 4th class just 4 play hurling, football is doing better with 8/9 playing this is alarming. We know New Ross has been problem for 20 + years, while in Enniscorthy Shamrocks no longer have teams at many (if not most) age groups. You add that the towns is where most of the population growth is happening and it makes the battle here even more existential. Demographics are a challenge, many parents are not from Ireland originally and more have no connection with the GAA. Senior success is in the context even more important and impactful. In the meantime we need a strategy to address these urban challanges.

Where are the bright spots for Wexford GAA? Maybe its the Monday morning blues, but I'm struggling to find them."
These are long-term structural issues, you'd imagine that the Kinnerk Report addresses most of the issues you have raised but while we may know what our problems are and possibly how to solve them, the most important (And the most difficult) part is actually going out and implementing it

Also, as these are long-term issues, they'll take a while to fix, could be in a situation where we're doing everything right but it won't bear fruit until another 5-10 years (And equally, could be doing everything wrong and we won't see the full results until another 5-10 years time)

ElGranSenor (Wexford) - Posts: 956 - 09/03/2026 12:23:10    2660648

Replying To Afinestick96:  "One plus from the league is when things arent going our way like yesterday the lads are keeping going and not putting their heads down. That can keep us in games and gives us a chance come the end like we had yesterday could have nicked a draw. Performance levels will have to increase though but I think the return of Cian Molloy, Jippo, Jacko, Jack Redmond and Cian Byrne will improve the team. Our championship team now is looking something like
Fanning
Carley
Liam Ryan ( Fingers crossed he's fit)
Donohoe ( Hoping his injury isnt serious if not id play Dempsey or Niall Murphy)
Molloy
D Reck
Lawlor
Hearne
C Foley ( Needs to play out the field I think backs doesnt suit him)
Jacko
Roche
Chin
Cian Byrne
Jack Redmond
K Foley"
I agree with pretty much all of that team, just have a feeling that the team plays with better intensity with David Codd on the pitch

Also have a feeling we would improve for putting a sweeper in place (A role which Codd could do)

ElGranSenor (Wexford) - Posts: 956 - 09/03/2026 12:24:37    2660649

Replying To Viking66:  "I think James Byrne is really under rated, been saying that for years now. Redmond and Byrne are both fit. As I said before it wouldn't surprise me in the least if around half the lads who started in Ennis wont be starting in Newbridge.
Yesterday's result was disappointing, it would be nice to be going up to 1a but thats pretty unlikely now.
At the same time the game will be soon forgotten if we go well in Leinster, and in fairness to Keith he stated several times this year that that was what he was building towards."
Maybe they trained very hard on Thursday and that's why they were flat, I don't know

But even if that was the case, you'd imagine Clare would've trained hard too given they were already promoted

ElGranSenor (Wexford) - Posts: 956 - 09/03/2026 12:27:17    2660651

Replying To ElGranSenor:  "Is he best in midfield?"
Maybe. He'd be an excellent prospect for any of the front 8 positions. Obviously hes young, needs to develop physically, but hes a great head on his shoulders and attitude towards the whole thing.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 18717 - 09/03/2026 12:53:56    2660654

Replying To ElGranSenor:  "These are long-term structural issues, you'd imagine that the Kinnerk Report addresses most of the issues you have raised but while we may know what our problems are and possibly how to solve them, the most important (And the most difficult) part is actually going out and implementing it

Also, as these are long-term issues, they'll take a while to fix, could be in a situation where we're doing everything right but it won't bear fruit until another 5-10 years (And equally, could be doing everything wrong and we won't see the full results until another 5-10 years time)"
There is a general impatience in Wexford it has to be said, and its probably not served us well over the years either.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 18717 - 09/03/2026 12:55:01    2660655

Replying To ElGranSenor:  "Maybe they trained very hard on Thursday and that's why they were flat, I don't know

But even if that was the case, you'd imagine Clare would've trained hard too given they were already promoted"
Not sure about either panels training schedule, only that both would be aiming for the start of the Round Robin at this stage.
It would be nearly criminal to disrupt the training plan to have everyone at their peak for Newbridge and Nowlan Park just to win a League game in Ennis.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 18717 - 09/03/2026 12:59:40    2660657

Replying To Viking66:  "There is a general impatience in Wexford it has to be said, and its probably not served us well over the years either."
Fair points but we've had so many plans and initiatives over 20 + years now and non have really moved the dial and as I said a lack of success is eroding the player pool so the issue is urgent.

"A GPO told me that he reckoned close to half the kids in primary schools in wexford town aren't affiliated to any GAA clubs, we need to get them kids in the gate by any means necessary and not just by one means only."

Very interesting point, which points to a problem and opportunity, but arguably not an easy one to address but massively important that we do, otherwise what is the point in the GPO in schools model? There have to be targets and incentives for clubs to get into the schools. Should the door be opened to clubs adjacent t to the towns to get involved if the town clubs are failing to pick these potential players up?

wexford2012 (Wexford) - Posts: 131 - 09/03/2026 14:34:46    2660671

Replying To tearintom:  "You see just picking up on one comment you made in regards to the school where only 4 are hurling but 8 or 9 play football.

The fact that you deem this as alarming is part of the problem. But you're not alone in that thinking, its practically the modus operandi of the HAC and prominent people within wexford GAA. Oh that's a problem,we need to stop those fellas playing football and get them hurling!

Rather than looking at it for what it is, its an opportunity. There's 8 or 9 chaps that are already in a GAA club, well thats a start, let's work with the football and see can we get them to do a bit of hurling maybe,let's actually work together but thats not tye mindset.

We should be using all fhe gaa as a gateway, football, handball, rounders everything we can needs to be a gateway to getting people involved and once they're in the gate then thats half the battle, then you have them, work with them. But again the mindset is they should only be coming in the gate only to hurl in the first place.

Kildare hurlings rise is an example of exactly that, get them in the gate first even if it is for football etc. We need to adapt that mindset but ours is the complete opposite.

And lastly we need to stop the mystisation of fhe game, ah he needs to be at it every day, he needs to be doing this by that age and you can't just treat it as a game, its way more, its a vocation blah blah blah. Kids just want to play a game, .etc them play the game.

A GPO told me that he reckoned close to half the kids in primary schools in wexford town aren't affiliated to any GAA clubs, we need to get them kids in the gate by any means necessary and not just by one means only."
Tbh, I think Kildare's rise has a lot to do with Brian Dowling

You see people on here giving out stink about our underage results; I wonder what they'd say if we had've their underage results instead

ElGranSenor (Wexford) - Posts: 956 - 09/03/2026 14:57:38    2660676

Replying To ElGranSenor:  "Tbh, I think Kildare's rise has a lot to do with Brian Dowling

You see people on here giving out stink about our underage results; I wonder what they'd say if we had've their underage results instead"
What is Kildare's recent underage record? Havent heard of them getting any wins against bigger counties bar when they beat us in under 20

Afinestick96 (Wexford) - Posts: 927 - 09/03/2026 15:45:29    2660682

Replying To wexford2012:  "Fair points but we've had so many plans and initiatives over 20 + years now and non have really moved the dial and as I said a lack of success is eroding the player pool so the issue is urgent.

"A GPO told me that he reckoned close to half the kids in primary schools in wexford town aren't affiliated to any GAA clubs, we need to get them kids in the gate by any means necessary and not just by one means only."

Very interesting point, which points to a problem and opportunity, but arguably not an easy one to address but massively important that we do, otherwise what is the point in the GPO in schools model? There have to be targets and incentives for clubs to get into the schools. Should the door be opened to clubs adjacent t to the towns to get involved if the town clubs are failing to pick these potential players up?"
There are alot of rural clubs struggling to get alot of kids in through the door also.
Agreed the problem in towns is worse.
Trying to get more hurling and football into the schools might help lads taking them up in the clubs. Should do anyway.
As regards the initiatives and whether they are working, if you introduce something at National School level its not reasonable to expect our adult levels of success to be better on account of it 8 years later.
Problems include getting lads suitable to be be GPOs in the 1st place, getting funding to pay for them, getting them to upskill regularly, etc. Obviously it would be far better if all National Schools did something about this themselves, but many dont, unless they have a GAA principal, and some GAA players as teachers.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 18717 - 09/03/2026 15:50:32    2660685

We lost promotion in Croke Park two weeks ago, not yesterday. 1B is all well and good but the players yesterday learned how little time you get on the ball vs the top teams. Lessons are learned against these top teams and no point hiding behind bad habits against second rate teams. Yesterday will have brought them on but lets face it Clare were without a few of their top players.
My father said about that strategic report "there is not 1 line in it that isn't obvious to anybody involved, there are so few specific actions to render it pointless and we've had many of these reports before".

StoreysTash (Wexford) - Posts: 1974 - 09/03/2026 16:24:10    2660694

Replying To Afinestick96:  "What is Kildare's recent underage record? Havent heard of them getting any wins against bigger counties bar when they beat us in under 20"
Their minors only lost to ours by a few points that year too. Nothing too notable underage apart from that.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 18717 - 09/03/2026 16:51:00    2660701

Replying To StoreysTash:  "We lost promotion in Croke Park two weeks ago, not yesterday. 1B is all well and good but the players yesterday learned how little time you get on the ball vs the top teams. Lessons are learned against these top teams and no point hiding behind bad habits against second rate teams. Yesterday will have brought them on but lets face it Clare were without a few of their top players.
My father said about that strategic report "there is not 1 line in it that isn't obvious to anybody involved, there are so few specific actions to render it pointless and we've had many of these reports before"."
Your father isnt far wrong. There are loads of bits of wishful thinking and good intentions, and fair play to the lads on the committee who put alot of their time in for nothing drawing it up, but its very short on specific actions.
It will be interesting when the flesh is put on the bones, and it starts getting put into practice, will there be anything in it then that will improve things.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 18717 - 09/03/2026 16:54:30    2660702

Replying To StoreysTash:  "We lost promotion in Croke Park two weeks ago, not yesterday. 1B is all well and good but the players yesterday learned how little time you get on the ball vs the top teams. Lessons are learned against these top teams and no point hiding behind bad habits against second rate teams. Yesterday will have brought them on but lets face it Clare were without a few of their top players.
My father said about that strategic report "there is not 1 line in it that isn't obvious to anybody involved, there are so few specific actions to render it pointless and we've had many of these reports before"."
Your father isnt far wrong. There are loads of bits of wishful thinking and good intentions, and fair play to the lads on the committee who put alot of their time in for nothing drawing it up, but its very short on specific actions and targets.
It will be interesting when the flesh is put on the bones, and it starts getting put into practice, will there be anything in it then that will improve things.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 18717 - 09/03/2026 17:07:46    2660705

Agree on the strategic plan.

But I wouldn't be concerned about spending another year in 1B. If anything yesterday proved we aren't ready to go up and stay up, going up and coming straight back down isnt of any use to us. For example id prefer to be where we are rather than where Offaly are this year.

Its a young squad, another year of development will do no harm, there's no quick fix, we need to realise that its going to take time and accept that imho.

tearintom (Wexford) - Posts: 1622 - 09/03/2026 17:38:56    2660712