Roscommon GAA thread

Replying To dave1988:  "Hard luck Brigid's tough one to take for ye but ye have an extremely young team that has now played in 2 all Ireland finals in 3 years and both 1 point defeats which will be hard to take but they are so young that you would have to think they will get over the line in the next few years. Kickouts today were good and bad and some shooting was fairly poor from Brigid's. Fallon was outstanding today and I hope Roscommon management use Conor hand right this year he's a brilliant player."
So near and yet so far.
Disappointing last few minutes but the seeds of defeat were sown by the missed chances, balls falling short especially.

Can't bring myself to look back at it so still wondering what happened at the end.
I thought quick kick outs are allowed no matter where defenders are once they don't touch the ball inside the arc or 20m line?

Hopefully Ruairi and Conor Hand can bring their form to the County team at some stage between here and June.
Also hopefully most of the Brids County lads can commit as they'll be needed.
They probably need a break though after 16 months non stop.

As for next Sunday .. a 1 point defeat might be a relief.

Seanfan (Roscommon) - Posts: 313 - 19/01/2026 09:53:01    2651788

Replying To Rossielover:  "Saw a video online today of a pub in vicinity of Pearses GAA of the lads in the pub celebrating wildly when Dingle scored the winning point, most of these gentleman possibly friends with lads from Brigids, was a poor showing to see them not cheering on fellow county men, thoughts on this?"
A man I know from Clan na Gael was hoping for a Dingle win. Look no matter what people say, there is always a certain number who won't want the neighbors doing well. It's rivalry and only natural.

We see it at county level, some will love to see the county next door win, the other will actively support their opponents and even put up flags and cheer as you pass home (Cloonfad I'm looking at you;)

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11877 - 19/01/2026 10:02:55    2651791

Anyone want to predict the starting team for Sunday? Nearly impossible I think

dave1988 (Roscommon) - Posts: 1337 - 19/01/2026 10:06:51    2651799

Replying To WonTon5:  "If Ben O'Carroll had played to even 70% of his ability today, ye would have won."
Ben hasn't been at his best this year. He also has to work on his shooting it's very poor. He has so much ability but a corner forward has to be reliable when shooting from play or frees. It's like he doesn't connect with the ball properly

dave1988 (Roscommon) - Posts: 1337 - 19/01/2026 10:09:16    2651801

Replying To Rossielover:  "Saw a video online today of a pub in vicinity of Pearses GAA of the lads in the pub celebrating wildly when Dingle scored the winning point, most of these gentleman possibly friends with lads from Brigids, was a poor showing to see them not cheering on fellow county men, thoughts on this?"
Hopefully not true, but did not see the video. Was watching the match with my club mates (senior club in Roscommon) and we were all for Brigids and celebrated like Brigids men when Fallon kicked that 2 pointer. You'd hope all clubs were he same but maybe the rivalry with Pearses/Clann/Brigids is too much for them to support their own county men.

Awful tough luck on Brigids yesterday, 2 great teams. Credit to Dingle but Brigids will look back on so many missed chances, some scorable frees and balls dropped short. Some poor decision making in the last few minutes which was unlike them, but games go that way in extra time and in the heat of battle. Conor Hand and Fallon are just unbelievable footballers. Unfortunately one team has to lose but with the Brigids talent and the average age of that panel, they will be well in the mix the next few years.

Well done to Dingle. Players like the 2 Geaneys and Tom O'Sullivan came in clutch when it counted. Great advertisement for the club game.

Rossfan93 (Roscommon) - Posts: 91 - 19/01/2026 10:21:29    2651806

Replying To dave1988:  "Ben hasn't been at his best this year. He also has to work on his shooting it's very poor. He has so much ability but a corner forward has to be reliable when shooting from play or frees. It's like he doesn't connect with the ball properly"
He has so much natural ability and is very elusive. It's very hard to hold him on a pitch like Croke Park, as he can change direction so quickly.
But his shooting was very poor yesterday. The free he had which was just outside the arc must have fallen at least 10 yards short, which suggest as you said, that he's not striking the ball well at all. Needs to look at his technique. The one he pulled to hit the post from close-range was another poor strike and he dropped another short too.
There's only one remedy to shooting and it's practice, practice, practice. Clifford makes it look so natural, and while he does have a huge range, he's been practicing non-stop since he was young lad.

WanPintWin (Galway) - Posts: 2712 - 19/01/2026 14:47:47    2651902

Be very careful what you believe when it comes to videos. People can be very creative, edit and amend .A.I is huge nowadays and not always helpful

eoinog (Sligo) - Posts: 2314 - 19/01/2026 15:16:20    2651910

Reports online of Ben O'Carroll being utterly heartbroken well after the final whistle yesterday, as the team headed out of Croke Park - almost had to be held up walking out.
You would have to really feel for Ben. He's going to play them plays over in his head for a long time - whatever about the missed chances, but the two turnovers late on especially.
Hopefully we see him get his chance again in Croke Park to redeem himself.

ball1 (Roscommon) - Posts: 30 - 19/01/2026 15:54:52    2651925

Replying To dave1988:  "Thats where I think it's completely wrong. I think we should be aiming for the next 3 years to stay in division 1 and get our young lads coming up playing at that standard for a few years and then look at championship. What are we going to achieve by being relegated and maybe winning a connacht title every 5 years and that's it. Look at Monaghan they put everything into league for years and got knocked out in championship by longford and other teams them years but eventually they got to the next level and stood toe to toe with the big teams in championship after staying in division one for a sustained amount of time. If we get relegated this year what's going to change. It's been the same for years up and down and still no where near the top teams so I'd be all on for putting absolutely everything into the league for a few years and get to a level where then we are taken seriously and can challenge top teams"
So are you saying that you want a prolonged spell in Div 1 (where half the teams only want to get enough points to avoid relegation) and then when the business end of the championship comes along you are happy to lose the first round of the Connacht championship and get beaten in the All Ireland series just in the hope of getting a few young lads to come along. Don't forget you have good older lads that in 3 years will be at the end of their career

eoinog (Sligo) - Posts: 2314 - 19/01/2026 16:10:52    2651931

Replying To eoinog:  "So are you saying that you want a prolonged spell in Div 1 (where half the teams only want to get enough points to avoid relegation) and then when the business end of the championship comes along you are happy to lose the first round of the Connacht championship and get beaten in the All Ireland series just in the hope of getting a few young lads to come along. Don't forget you have good older lads that in 3 years will be at the end of their career"
We have been up and down for years and still poor in championship. You listen to any top footballer and they say unless you playing division 1 consistently then you will never get to that top level. I'd like to see us try stay in division 1 for 3/4 years and if that means our championship will be effected so what because what we have been doing the last 10 years hasn't worked by being relegated and then promoted only to go down again the following year. We have plenty of young lads coming up now between the ages of 20 to 25 and the only way they will reach their full potential is by playing the top teams every week.

dave1988 (Roscommon) - Posts: 1337 - 19/01/2026 17:11:50    2651945

Replying To WanPintWin:  "He has so much natural ability and is very elusive. It's very hard to hold him on a pitch like Croke Park, as he can change direction so quickly.
But his shooting was very poor yesterday. The free he had which was just outside the arc must have fallen at least 10 yards short, which suggest as you said, that he's not striking the ball well at all. Needs to look at his technique. The one he pulled to hit the post from close-range was another poor strike and he dropped another short too.
There's only one remedy to shooting and it's practice, practice, practice. Clifford makes it look so natural, and while he does have a huge range, he's been practicing non-stop since he was young lad."
Even David Clifford had a day like that in the 2023 All Ireland final, scored 2 points from play from 7 attempts!

sligo joe (Dublin) - Posts: 1040 - 19/01/2026 17:40:01    2651951

Replying To ball1:  "Reports online of Ben O'Carroll being utterly heartbroken well after the final whistle yesterday, as the team headed out of Croke Park - almost had to be held up walking out.
You would have to really feel for Ben. He's going to play them plays over in his head for a long time - whatever about the missed chances, but the two turnovers late on especially.
Hopefully we see him get his chance again in Croke Park to redeem himself."
It's so important that people voice their opinions on forums like this in a manner that's respectful and constructive and considers that the player themselves might actually read this stuff. Ben O' Carroll has given schools and club and county countless great days out, if his usual accuracy was awry yesterday so be it, Shane Lowry made a howler yesterday on the final hole, it happens in sport, undoubtedly the Brigid's lads rallied around Ben yesterday and today

Claretandblue (Westmeath) - Posts: 2540 - 19/01/2026 18:16:12    2651958

Wouldn't pay much heed. There are always one or two who never want anyone but their own club doing well and begrudge any success. We had a lad in the Longford forum go over to the Westmeath forum the day we got beat in the Leinster Club Championship a few years ago, to congratulate the Westmeath club for beating us. You can't do anything about that sort of nastiness. It is always just the odd few, and rarely reflects the view of most decent football people.

Hard luck to Brigids. Fantastic game and a fantastic club. Roscommon footballing people should be proud.

LongfordgaaAbú (Longford) - Posts: 648 - 19/01/2026 18:41:41    2651960

I'm not majorly surprised tbh when a Roscommon club does well in the championship I expect most of the county to back them except maybe one or two rival clubs

Like naturally with the rivalry within the south I'm not surprised if clan or Pearse's didn't support Brigids but it's never that simple either, a lad with a Pearses jersey was infront of me in croke park, some it can down to the individual.

Its not just the south tho like I would liked to seen more support for strokestown this year but i wouldn't really expect many elphin people to support them vice versa in the Connacht final against crossmolina last season

Speaking of this topic does anyone feel bad making fun of mayo over the years it's just really painful to Brigids miss the opportunity again it's kinda putting your feet in someone else's shoes

Lastly 16/17 last time Brigids (or anyone) did back to back in Roscommon but just with the quality shown in the final do you think this year they will be back to back can only see Pearse's possibly stop them

Gavlar (Roscommon) - Posts: 11 - 19/01/2026 20:29:40    2651971

Replying To ball1:  "Reports online of Ben O'Carroll being utterly heartbroken well after the final whistle yesterday, as the team headed out of Croke Park - almost had to be held up walking out.
Hopefully we see him get his chance again in Croke Park to redeem himself."
No doubt the management team and Brigids supporters will rally around Ben and the other players and support them. Ben is a quality player and remains so. Important for other Roscommon supporters to support him also. Shane Cunnane missed a difficult free/50 to draw the 2024 final and came back to have a great game yesterday. I expect Ben to do the same.

Time for a sports psychologist to maybe support the players and indeed the management at this time.

I am not an expert, but taking a prolonged time out and dwelling on the hundreds of small incidents that occurred in the game might not be a great idea and do their heads in. Maybe the best thing would be for the county players to get back playing for the Rossies after a shorter break than if they had won. No doubt some people will disagree.

I am not from St Bridgets but watched the match from 5,000 miles away on line. I was a proud Rossie watching the game. Keep the heads up lads if any of you are reading this. Your time will come are you are a fantastic team giving it 100% for your club and county.

letsgetgoing (Roscommon) - Posts: 834 - 19/01/2026 21:16:07    2651977

Replying To yew_tree:  "A man I know from Clan na Gael was hoping for a Dingle win. Look no matter what people say, there is always a certain number who won't want the neighbors doing well. It's rivalry and only natural.

We see it at county level, some will love to see the county next door win, the other will actively support their opponents and even put up flags and cheer as you pass home (Cloonfad I'm looking at you;)"
They sure "dislike" Mayo in Cloonfad. I wonder why?

superos (Roscommon) - Posts: 50 - 19/01/2026 21:45:52    2651983